We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of the better Residence Inns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the better Residence Inns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Despite ongoing renovations, this is a very nice locations. One BR suite was terrific. Complimentary dinner and breakfast above par as well. Outstanding locations, 5 minute drive to downtown Mystic with numerous restaurants and shops. No more than 15 minutes to Foxwoods

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRhodesNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    134
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
170
80
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this particular property, for it was a last minute booking. In addition, we needed a hotel that was dog friendly (of which it is)
Our room was a very generous size including a full size appliances in the kitchen area. A full hot breakfast was included which was very good.
The hotel is undergoing redecorating, so certain areas were 'under construction'. (e.g. pool, exercise room) but we were able to use a nearby Marriott's facilities at no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea3517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great location...currently under MAJOR renovations, so beware. 15 to 25 minutes from Foxwoods and Mohegan. Mystic is just down the road. Construction looks to be done by the spring season. Didn't stay for breakfast as it was in a different building and the weather was cold. great diner down the street towards Mystic. Would return again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vivianna51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stay here every time we visit Foxwoods because we have a dog. Its about 7 mile drive to the casino but it's close to mystic for sight seeing. Breakfast is always good. Rooms were clean. People at the front desk were very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houseofgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had to leave the Waters Edge in Westbrook CT after drunk and rowdy neighbors and an ambivalent staff created an unsafe enviornment for myself, 61 yr old mother and 18 month old baby. We fled at dawn and arrived a half hour away in Mystic at 7AM with no reservations. They smiled, welcomed us with open arms, let us check in immediately and gave us an amazingly satisfying breakfast. Light dinner each night was also included at no extra charge. This place is top notch- run properly with friendly, caring, professional staff. Can't way to go back and enjoy the Mystic area with my family again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie6415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Feeling safe while away from home is among our top priorities! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and, naturally, thank you for your business. We look forward to welcoming you and the whole family back when you next visit Mystic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I frequent the area on business trips about twice a month and this is my preferred lodging. Scott (the manager) and his entire front desk team (Louise, Justin, Danielle + others) do everyting in their power to make your stay enjoyable. Harriet (breakfast mgr) and Erin (evening snack mgr) do a great job getting everything setup and keeping ample quantities so everyone can enjoy the meals. The facility is showing signs of its age but I understand that there is a remodel scheduled for early 2013. The only issue I have is that it is frequently very difficult to get into the facility on short notice. I am a platinum Marriot member and even I can't get in with up to 2 weeks advance notice. One of the staff joking said that they should take over the Sleep Inn (next door) and turn it into an extension of the Marriott! Not a bad idea. Kudos to Scott and the staff - This should be the #1 hotel in Mystic, it certainly is for me and my business partners. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building (not the 2nd building or the special historical lodge).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geocaching Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff was courteous and the room was very clean.... no dog smells whatsoever (which is what I worried about). Great complimentary breakfast. Our room was small, but had everything we needed: fridge, microwave, stove top. We had queen bed and kids slepts on pull out couch. They had doggy bags and area for dogs outside. Even had magnet for door to let staff know if dog was left in room. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I'm so glad you found our hotel to be a comfortable and accommodating place to stay while visiting the area! I will share your comments with our staff and look forward to you visiting us again!

Warm Regards
Scott Barlow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#2 of 14 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Property: Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Address: 40 Whitehall Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1967
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Inn Mystic Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing