We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Stay!”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We were going to Foxwoods Casino with a bunch of friends & decided to get the 2 Bedroom here at this hotel. I have been here before, so I knew what to expect. I like to use these hotels to add to my frequent flier account on American Airlines.

We checked in with no problem. You have to sign a form stating you are not throwing any parties in your room for New Year's or you get kicked out by security. Some people were tossed out later that night by security. They are strict on their rules and your money is not refunded.

I was given the choice of any of the 3 floors. I chose the ground floor and we got room 149 which was right next to the door to go out and into the parking lot. Perfect choice.

The room was fine. You walk in and immediately on the right is the kitchen. Ahead of you is the living room with a fire place (gas type). On either side of the living room are the bedrooms with the full baths.

Sparkling clean, no dust, dirt, etc. We dropped out stuff off & left. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but there's plenty of them within sevral hundred yards. Mystic is very small, there's several high quality hotels within hundreds of yards from you. Behind us right on the same property was Comfort Inn and across the street was Best Western and Days Inn. Again, higher standards apply with these hotels. This is Connecticut after all!

Well, we had dinner across the street at the Best Western & headed off to Foxwoods. We spent the New Year's up there & left about an hour after the ball dropped. (It wasn't as crowded there as it use to be for New Year's).

The next morning, they had free continental breakfast. They gave me my gas card which comes with the room deal of $10. So I got to put $10 of gas in my car for the drive home.

All in all, its still a great place, well upkept and no signs of wear & tear. I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    142
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
190
86
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lehigh valley, pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This hotel was very clean, great rooms, friendly staff, and good location. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank strwberri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I booked the Residence Inn using Marriott Rewards points, so I can't comment on whether this is a good value or not, since I'm not sure the cost, but...

I thought this hotel was wonderful! The front desk staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel room was very clean - I've worked as a housekeeping manager before, so I pay close attention to things. This place was spotless! The suite was a great size, and better than I was expecting. We only stayed for 1 night, but this would be a nice place to stay for a while. There's a kitchen, complete with stove, microwave and dishwasher. Then there's a couch next to a working fireplace, even if it is gas. I thought this was a nice touch. My only compaint is the bed. It wasn't the most comfortable I've slept in, and my back ached the next morning.

The breakfast buffet is a perfect way to start the day. I love that they have hot items - bacon, eggs, and even make your own Belgium waffles....but get there early. Don't wait until just before they close it, as you'll run out of stuff to eat, and they will close it promptly at 10!

The hotel is in a good location to Old Mystick Village, Mystic Seaport, the Aquarium, and a short drive to the casinos.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and very please. If I'm in Mystic again, I'd definitely stay here.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — The bed wasn't the most comfortable.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jenvalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This is a great hotel! The staff is very attentive and friendly. Great amenities including a hot breakfast. One of the best places to stay in Mystic.

  • Liked — The staff, location, amenities.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank racewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

I frequently travel to this area for business and this is my #1 choice of places to stay. The location is wonderful, facility extremely clean and the staff just can't do enough for you. One time I arrived during a blackout and the staff was handing out flashlights to all of the guests as we checked in. There are "dinners" provided every weeknight which works well for people traveling with young kids. There are so many outstanding restaurants in the area, you really need to try a few of them. I recommend "Captain Daniel Packer Inn" , "Go Fish", "Steak Loft" and "Skipper's Dock" as really great places to try. Mystic Village is a really great place to pick up souvineers & trinkets for the folks back home. Make your reservations early as this hotel fills up quickly! One word of caution: If you don't like historical B&Bs, don't stay in the restored building in the parking lot. It does not have many of the modern conveniences but has lot's of atmosphere!

  • Liked — Location, Service, Facility
  • Disliked — The restored historic hotel rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Geocaching Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We had a great stay at the Residence Inn. The room was nicely sized and great value. The TVs were a bit small though. The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was great, lots of choices and well maintained by the staff. The hotel is nicely located close to major highways and close to all of the attractions in Mystic, CT. No problems with outside noise, but the air conditioning was a bit noisy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank zoecatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila. PA
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I stayed here for a few weeks in April and May. The hotel is wonderful. The suites are large and clean, nice size full kitchen with everything you need to cook a meal. The suites look like a studio apartment and it was very comfortable to stay in for days at a time. One week I had the whirlpool suite which was awesome and another week I had the fireplace suite which again was just perfect! I liked the suite that had doors separating the bedroom and living room area with two TVs and a pull out sofa bed. Perfect for a family.

This hotel really did have a 'homey' feeling. The staff is very nice. Free hot breakfast every morning was a delight. They also had a free small meal at dinner which was a nice surprise. If you don't eat a lot like me, this meal will serve as a dinner. One night I had a meatball sandwich that was so good. Another night was a BBQ with hot off the grill hamburgers and hot dogs. You can't beat this kind of service!

The pool, hot tub and exercise room was a great bonus to this hotel. There is also a nice green lawn area and basketball/tennis court. I wish every hotel I stayed in was like this one.

There is plenty to do in the area and several good restaurants. I liked the fact that it was easy to get around the area and the views of the rivers and lakes are beautiful. Unfortunately I didn't think to bring my camera because I stayed here for business.

You can't go wrong at this Residence Inn.

  • Liked — Large comfortable clean room, free meals, felt like 'home'.
  • Disliked — Not enough food at dinner time to feed everyone. The food was free however therfore understandable.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank devo1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.9 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Property: Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Address: 40 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mystic Groton 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing