We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

From the warm, fresh-baked cookies upon arrival to the spacious room, we were more than satisfied with the accommodations at this hotel. We will absolutely be back. I thought the value was great, and the hotel is right next to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    144
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
192
86
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Greenbush
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Two adults and two teenagers stayed here for 2 nights. Very nice front desk staff. Gave great recommendations for restaurants. Hotel may be a little dated, but our room was very clean. We requested a roll-a-way bed and it arrived within minutes when we entered our room, and no extra fee was charged. Our room said "no view" when we booked it online through Marriott, but we looked into a wooded area that very pleasant. Overall a great location. Maybe a 5 minute drive to the downtown area of Mystic. Can't walk into the town of Mystic, but it didn't appear to be many places that were walking distance. Parking in the town wasn't difficult. Our AC unit was a little noisier than most other hotels I've stayed in. Bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding in Westerly RI, and we were pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the room, the accomodations, the cleanliness. Two flat screen tvs and a full kitchen-best part was the comfortable bed and the QUIET a/c.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel is easy to find. It is located righty odd I 95 at exit 90. The front staff is very helpful. They told us about fireworks in Groton and even ran off directions and brought them to the room! Breakfast is included and includes several hot options every morning.
The evening snacks on Monday to Thursday are okay, but the drink options in the evening are only sweetened tea or to buy something. It didn't really matter much because there are so many great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J7orman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Residence Inn in Mystic. Both times we were attending a wedding and all of our friends stayed there too. No one had a single complaint!
The rooms were large with a full kitchen area. Brand new flat screen TV's, comfortable beds, and very clean, modern furniture- we were impressed. Some of us used the gym and again, all the equipment was updated and clean. The breakfast was very good, with everything you could want for a breakfast meal. We found the staff friendly and helpful.
We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mak415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I'm a Marriott elite rewards member and stay at the Residence Inns often because I can bring my dog. I was in town for business so my husband and dog came along. I got a little nervous at the last minute reading some of the reviews, but overall the stay was good. We actually got an upgrade to a 2-bedroom which was great and appreciated (I had booked it awhile ago). The first thing I did was check out the floors after reading the reviews and did find a candy wrapper near the window...the room seemed clean otherwise so maybe the housekeeping isn't vaccuuming the corners the way they're supposed to. My dog REALLY was sniffing the carpet a lot, so I wondered if they had steam cleaned with the $100 from the last pet as they are supposed to. The other negatives were that the eggs didn't seem fresh at breakfast (even though I'm sure they were made that day) and the hot tub and pool water didn't look or feel crystal clear (I only went in the hot tub the first night). But I'm sounding too negative....because the room was really quite nice, with nice TV's in each, the kitchen stocked as usual and everything was in good working order. They were very accomodating to clean our room the one day we went out, the other days we asked for towels, etc. and they gave us whatever we needed. Breakfast was well stocked and the best part is the waffles. I thought the service was great, everyone was nice and accomodating. One other negative - there was a family staying above me (we were on the first floor) and I checked to see if they had kids and how long they were there (they're there for a month) 'cause the kids must have been stomping around....they also woke me up at 6:30am the first day I could hear them walking above. I'm a light sleeper so switched rooms with my husband so it wasn't so bad. We were on the list to be moved but they said it was sold out. So I would request the top floor here if possible, otherwise you can hear the walking, etc. But it made me feel good that the woman at the front desk really empathized with me about it too. Oh, and they had food out every night....we didn't eat it, but I was going to buy a single bottle of wine that they sell one night at about 5pm, and the front desk person first said to wait to see if he could get me a happy hour price, then told me at 5:30 it would be free! So overall, nice accomodations, decent breakfast (for free), great staff.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This Residence Inn property is perfectly nice. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful at check in, and breakfast buffet staff were helpful, as well. Our 1-bedroom suite was clean, and they brought in a roll away bed so our two kids didn't have to share the sofa bed.

Two incidents made this a less-than-fantastic stay. First, the pool is so insanely over chlorinated that we all had bad allergic reactions after we swam. And we regularly swim at an indoor pool, so we're used to them. We all had very itchy eyes and red circles around them. Second, I logged onto the complimentary wireless network and within 90 seconds, my laptop was infected with spyware which had to be cleaned up by my corporate IT department. Not what you want to experience when using your computer at a hotel.

So I would recommend this hotel for rooms, staff, cleanliness, and location, but I would never swim in the pool or use the wireless again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clarkthehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Residence Inn Mystic Groton, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
I would like to thank you for your recent Trip Advisor comments and take this opportunity to address your concerns related to our pool.

We sincerely hope that the irritations you experienced were temporary and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay.

Our pool & spa feature Saline (salt-water) purification systems. Saline systems are by nature environmentally friendly as they do not use harsh chemicals. The mild salt water is less harsh on eyes, clothing and skin and swimmers usually find the advantages of a Saline system pleasing. To maintain and keep our areas clean, associates perform a thorough cleaning of the pool, spa and facilities as well as check the pH twice daily.

During vacation periods and on weekends, the pool is heavily used. We suspect that due to the large volume of guests, each with different colognes, perfumes, body lotions, deodorants and soaps sharing the same pool, that it is possible for the combination of them to create an irritation for swimmers with sensitive skin.

We again want to thank you for your comments, and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We constructively use all comments provided by our guests as we strive to always improve our service and create the most enjoyable stays possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Mystic Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mystic Groton

Property: Residence Inn Mystic Groton
Address: 40 Whitehall Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mystic Groton 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Mystic Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mystic Groton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing