We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under major renovation ”
Review of Inn at Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Mystic
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Waterman, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Under major renovation ”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks nice from a distance and the new management is very nice as well. The issue is the major renovations. They are doing a ton of work on the place. The restaurant is completely gutted. We were given a room in a separate building, which helped, but our room wasn't renovated. It was musty and outdated. We were the only patrons. I would give this place a few months and let the work get done. I am certain it will be spectacular when it is finished.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank sradtke393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Owner at Inn at Mystic, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the renovation conditions that you had to deal with. As an update, the restaurant is complete, including a great outdoors deck on the front of the building, and everyone is raving about the new look, the food and the service. Our room renovations are well under way and we have completed a third of the rooms. In the next couple of weeks we will be installing new carpet, drapes, bathroom amenities, new linens and towels and a number of other upgrades to make all of our guests have a more enjoyable stay.
We are very committed to making this a fabulous place to eat and stay, please come back and see all that we have accomplished so far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    235
    117
    46
    22
See reviews for
148
433
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We recently vacationed in Connecticut and found ourselves in the nice little town of Mystic. We had the good fortune to check out the Inn at Mystic. The rooms we lovely, spacious band extremely comfortable. The staff was so friendly and helpful. A group of investors has recently purchased the property and are working on renovations. I can't wait to return and see their vision come to life!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtiszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernie D, Owner at Inn at Mystic, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review! Yes, we are very hard at work renovating rooms, sprucing up the landscaping and within a few days we will have a beautiful new restaurant for all of our guests dining enjoyment. Please return soon and enjoy the new Inn at Mystic and Harbour House restaurant and bar.
Sincerely,
Tim Brown
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Came to Mystic on our road trip from NYC to Maine. Chose Mystic for silly nostalgic reasons (the movie Mystic Pizza). The Inn was in the process of renovations by the new owners. We had 2 rooms (2 couples) and were delighted with the decor, furnishings and amenities etc. Their restaurant wasn't up and running but that didn't matter to us at all. The Inn may have appeared tired but everyone was working hard to get it back to the most amazing venue in Mystic. This was much more personal than the big chain hotels. Even a real fire place in the room and logs provided - very romantic! I wish them luck for the future in restoring this amazing property to its former glory. Booked thru Expedia who quoted and charged us much more than the Inn stated on their receipt. Now sorting this out for a refund from Expedia. Dont be put off by bad reviews - give them a go, they deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernie D, Owner at Inn at Mystic, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for noticing how hard we are working to restore this iconic property! We are very focused on providing a great product with exceptional service so please return soon and check out the new restaurant, the Harbour House, and other exciting amenities on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Tim Brown
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Reservation was made over the phone, and were told our two rooms were couple of the best. Well that was an understatement, the rooms had wood burning fireplaces, with wood by the hearth, the décor made you feel as if you were at an old inn. Open the sliders and out on the balcony were your chairs with an incredible view looking out into the Mystic waterways. and Sound. The temperature was just right for red wine cheese and crackers.. Can't wait to try it
again in the fall. Ohh if you try and get a cab, forget it!!! We just happen to have lucked out,
a gentleman came along and said I will give you a ride, turns out he was the new owner of the Inn!!!!
.

Room Tip: You want a room with a view of the waterways and a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernie D, Owner at Inn at Mystic, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
We are delighted that you had a such a great time while you stayed with us! We purchased the inn in late March and have been doing extensive renovations to the restaurant and our guest rooms so that you will have an even more enjoyable stay the next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Sincerely,
Tim Brown
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,087 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mystic

Property: Inn at Mystic
Address: 3 Williams Ave, Junction of Routes 1 & 27, Mystic, CT 06355-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Mystic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheltered Coves of Mystic Harbor, the tang of fresh salt air, the warm hospitality and comfort of a New England Inn,this is the special mystique of The Inn at Mystic where every season has its charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Mystic Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing