We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but winter wind blows in”
Review of Hilton Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Mystic
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel but winter wind blows in”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We & 3 grandkids visited President's weekend - Sun-Tues. Staff was kind to put in a roll-away. The location, restaurant & pool great!. However, when the wind blew (-17 w chill) on Sunday, the wind blew into the room around the wall-mounted air-cond & under the granite window sills. Nothing sealed! Repeated assistance ignored as hotel full. Towels and blankets stuffed to stop the wind helped but room still cold/thermosat set to 88. Would return but problem needs a fix.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesarP925, Director Of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Ann,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback in regards to the issue you encountered with cold air leaking into your room around your A/C unit. I've worked with maintenance to fix the issue, however, I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. We are currently updating our weatherproofing and don't foresee any additional issues. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us the next time you return to the area so we may show you the complete comfort and service you deserve from us.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    275
    152
    50
    42
See reviews for
283
257
23
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just an overnight as daughter had tournament at CT College next day. Very average hotel. Nothing special. Elevator smelled terrible. Lots of stains on the rugs. Food that had apparently been dropped in front of the elevator remained there over night. In the middle of the night the heater/ac unit began making very loud noises waking us up. Constant adjusting would make it stop for short amounts of time. Told the front desk about it in the a.m. and the woman (with a very rude attitude) advised me I should have called the front desk. I had considered it, but in the middle of the night, someone working on it or moving rooms would have been even more disruptive. I don't have an issue that there was a problem, just with the attitude at the front desk.

Room Tip: Room 228 has a brick wall and rooftop for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesarP925, Director Of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I am deeply sorry for the experience you had here at The Hilton Mystic. Please know that from my standpoint this type of behavior from our staff is completely unacceptable and that we will thoroughly investigate this incident and take all appropriate measures to prevent this from happening again in the future. I would love for the opportunity to speak to you personally and have left my contact information below. Once again please accept my deepest apoligizes and I look for to the oppurtunity to speak with you.


Cesar Patricio

Director Of Rooms
Phone: 860.572.2560
Cpatricio@hiltonmystic.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel looks great from the outside, but once inside you realize it is in need of a major facelift! The decor is out-dated and the rooms definitely need to be renovated (new pillows, mattresses, & towels PLEASE!). You are paying a lot for an unappealing room. We also had a FOREVER long walk to our room. We were at the far end of the hotel, but you could only get there going through the lobby so we had to walk down a long hallway with lots of turns. We were also placed next to a Canadian bust tour group-so at 6am when they had to leave-they were dragging out luggage, banging doors, and talking loudly-thank you for the unsolicited wake up call! As for the service-it was terrible! They told us a shuttle would be running all night to the waterfront and to just call when we were done, so we did. They said someone would be right there-then we waited, and waited, and waited outside in the freezing weather, and no one showed! They then said they didn't have a driver, so to call a cab-which took another 30 minutes to arrive! We froze! The breakfast buffet they have is terrible-it is all cafeteria quality food and it just sits out forever without being replaced. The tables are left unbussed. We found a long hair baked into the pancakes. Just very turned off! We would never stay there again and hope you don't either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesarP925, Director OF Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear traveler 2385, We appreciate you telling us of your experience at the Hilton Mystic. At your earliest convenience, please email me at Cpatricio@hiltonmystic.com so I can speak with you directly about the details of your stay. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Restaurant was terrible, pool was small and definately needed a good cleaning- towels ran out as soon as they were placed out for the guests- room was average and the bar was sub par- they actually ran out of glasses one night while I was there!!! People who frequent this place often and give it anything over 3 stars need to get out more- this is by no means a 4 star hotel and 3 is a gift!!!

Room Tip: pick a better hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesarP925, Director Of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Gary L, We appreciate you taking the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry for the poor experience you had with us during your stay and your review has been shared with the hotel’s managing team. We would like to address your concerns directly; please email me personally whenever possible at Cpatricio@hiltonmystic.com. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Room was spacious, well kept and clean. Lobby and bar wre very nice - wood burning fireplace a very nice touch! Would have loved to spend more time in the bar, but drinks were kinda pricey. Otherwise, loved our visit!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELLEN-Ashland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Director Of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and we will share your comments with our stafff so they are aware that you were satisfied with the stay you had here . We value your opinion of our brand and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your postive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Skeleton staff who were not overly friendly. Questionable cleanliness of some areas. Food relatively good but costly. Location is ideal, if going to the Aquarium. Walking distance to shopping and food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Director of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input observations and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests' expectations. We value your opinion of our brand and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Hilton in Mystic! Close to all and the food is actually really good! The bar has friendly bartenders and make great drinks! We celebrated our daughters first birthday there last year and came back again this year for her 2nd! The staff were amazing, they gave her cookies a birthday card and milk all set up in our room upon arrival! The manager Lauren even came up to say "Happy Birthday" and told us if we needed anything to just let the front desk know and they would bring it right up! Our baby woke up wanting milk at 3am and the front desk person went and brought up warm milk even though we only called down to see if we could get milk from downstairs, they said " No worries, we will bring you some" Very nice and look forward to coming back!! Room was clean and comfy, Cannot complain about a darn thing, Thank You Hilton Mystic and Lauren the front end manager!!! Love love love!!

Room Tip: 4th floor had the first room after elevator, perfect for people with kids, its large and spaced away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4SC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMystic, Director Of Rooms at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I appreciate that you have taken the time to provide Tripadvisor with your feedback on our Hotel. My staff and I strive hard to provide the best in service and accommodation, valued feedback such as yours help us better our service and product so as to achieve this goal. I’m happy to hear that your experience in our Hotel and Restaurants were enjoyable I will pass on you compliments to the entire staff especially Lauren. We are all very happy that your family enjoyed themselves while they were here and we look forward to seeing your family here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mystic

Property: Hilton Mystic
Address: 20 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1900
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Mystic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mystic, Connecticut, just one block from Interstate-95, Conveniently located for both corporate and leisure visitors alike. You'll appreciate the convenient location of our newly renovated Mystic, CT hotel as a coastal stopping point between New York City and Boston, MA, filled with historic charm of maritime New England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hilton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing