We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Engine Room

Engine Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Engine Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ocated in the beautifully restored Lathrop Marine Engine building with views of the Mystic River, we feature sixteen craft beers on tap, the area's largest bourbon selection, craft cocktails, a full wine list and a menu of locally sourced, creative American comfort food, with a focus on America's most beloved dish, the burger. Welcome to the table.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner at the Engine Room and had drinks on another evening. The burgers were very good. Our service on both occasions was responsive and pleasant. I was really pleased with the gluten free hamburger bun. My husband loved the wide selection of Bourbons. Other drink selections were limited unless you were a beer drinker. The place was a little loud, which some people might find fun. I found it a little too loud. It was definitely an interesting building and the food was well worth a little more noise than normal. This was my husband's favorite mid-priced eatery in Mystic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandywayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    132
    59
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were in Mystic to take a cruise on the Argia. The Engine Room was directly across the street so we went over to have a quick lunch before we left. The service was excellent and the food was delicious! My daughter had the fish sandwich with the catch of the day which happened to be Halibut. The fish was cooked perfect and tasted so fresh, one of the best fish sandwiches I have ever tasted. I had the BBQ brisket sandwich and it was amazing. It melted in my mouth it was so good!! We were so happy that we decided to walk across the street and give it a try. Will definitely go back if we are ever in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JEllen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
212 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Appallingly Bad Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stopped in for drinks and dinner on a Saturday. They were busy because of the art fair. The hostess said there was a long wait for a table, but we could seat ourselves at the bar. We nabbed one empty barstool and hoped a second would open up. People were both eating and drinking at the bar.

There were narrow counters (not proper tables) near the window in the bar where some people were waiting to be seated and several others were eating. During the time we waited for a second barstool, these counter seats freed up and stayed empty for a while. The bartender, seeing us still waiting unsuccessfully for a second barstool, told us we were welcome to eat and drink at the counter. My friend asked the hostess if this was okay; she said she didn't know (huh?).

So we sat ourselves there. A very nice waiter came over to clean the crumbs from the previous diners and give us napkins and silverware. He said he'd be right back to take our food and drinks order. Before he could return, the hostess marched back to inform us, with no explanation, that we could have drinks only but no food.

We had no idea what was going on. Why were the previous diners allowed to have food but we weren't? Why was the waiter setting us up to order food if we weren't allowed to? How did the hostess not have a clue one minute earlier, but suddenly had bizarre, strict rules about what we could have? Why would any bar/restaurant prevent customers from ordering and spending money?

I suspect the reason is they wanted us to spend money on drinks while waiting for a table, and THEN seat us at a table where we would spend money on food and hopefully more drinks. If so the plan backfired, because we walked out instead. And we won't be back, even though we have been long-time customers here. (Note to the management: the hostess with short/medium brown hair who was working at around 6:00 pm on Saturday August 9th, deserves to be fired for the way she speaks to customers.)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shell202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Superb...we loved it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Food was simply superb. No two ways about it. Burgers and steak. Fresh, flavour and great taste. Also very good sized portions. Wine and beers are a delight as well and service was top class. Very busy. Vey very busy with lots off large groups of people. (Aka very popular). Choose your time well if you come...as we will, when we come next time!

Helpful?
Thank stevesteveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
368 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“excellent Apps. & Fun & Burgers too ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped on the way back of a business trip. Was going to eat at S & P Oyster but they had a 45 minute wait on a July Tuesday evening. Saw Engine room on the way back to the car.
Sat at the "Chefs bar" and watched them work. The apps. were outstanding, both the fried oysters and the hush puppies. The burgers were not huge but excellent with a dynamite crust. I'm not after quantity but quality. Fries were crispy intentionally not "overdone" as suggested in other reviews
Nice place casual but food and drink aware. If you want giant burgers with standard fries this isn't the place for you. If you want exciting, freshly cooked, interesting food this is the place

Helpful?
Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Engine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing