We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend in Mystic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Mystic”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I really don't understand people's reviews sometimes. When people give a facility poor rating because they encountered someone having a bad day or there was a noisy family across the hallway...etc. Here is what I experienced at this Holiday Inn Express:

I reserved 3 room and all 3 rooms were VERY clean, well appointed and smelled clean. It was also VERY spacious. My brother stayed at the Marriott a few miles away and even he said that our rooms were bigger. The location was perfect! Unlike some of the other hotels I looked at, it sits on top of a hill, with pretty views and is located right near the old town and the aquarium.

The staff was very friendly and the kids loved the complimentary breakfast. If you are a platinum member at the Ritz, this hotel of course will not make you happy. If you are looking for a well appointed, clean, spacious hotel room at an excellent location, then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor. This way, you wont have any family with kids running around upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    193
    70
    29
    15
See reviews for
219
150
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express this past weekend for a convention we were going to close by. We arrived at the hotel around 11pm on Sunday night (10/20) and were greeted by a charming staff member at the front desk (sarcasm). It was an older lady who was crude and seemed like she just wanted to get us checked in so we would go away. The best part was when my husband asked "where is the closest parking to our room?" and she replied "honey, I don't go out to check which spaces are available in the parking lot." Like, seriously? Seriously. The other girl standing at the desk knew what we meant and quickly told us to park behind the building since that entrance was closer. The other weird thing was that none of the front desk seemed to have a proper uniform...

Other then that, the hotel was ok. Breakfast was stocked, but the omelet I think had meat in it, which I made the mistake of biting into and I'm a vegetarian. I thought hotels usually kept egg products meat free so there was not much there for me to eat. Room was decent and clean. Not sure if we would stay again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear traveldiva2585,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My girlfriend decided to surprise me with a trip to Mystic, CT for my birthday. We checked in around 3pm and were told that their would be a complimentary bottle of champagne in the fridge. When we opened the door to the room, we were immediately confronted with a very strong odor of marijuana. Housekeeping had even left the window open, bathroom fan on and the AC running, but the smell was still overwhelming. We went down to the front desk to see if another room was available. We told the desk clerk about the situation, and she wasn’t at all surprised. She informed us that there was a wedding party at the hotel the night before, and that she could smell it on every floor of the hotel that night. She went and checked the only other room available, and it too smelled strongly of marijuana. So she offered us $50 off of the room, but suggested that we speak to the manager in the AM as she would probably just comp the room. When we checked out in the morning, the manager couldn’t have had less sympathy for us. “We are a smoke free hotel, but we can’t control our guests.” she said. So we decided to email Holiday Inn directly, their reply “Oh my god! I’m sorry you had such a bad experience.”

So needless to say, this will be our last ever stay at any Holiday Inn Express. Oh ya, that complimentary bottle of champagne… didn’t exist. If I could give them a 0 out of 5, I would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Tom C,

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received and customer service.
Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for the price, location and decent reviews for Mystics area. Had a king room, huge, I actually did cartwheels in there. Loved the microwave, fridge where we kept snacks,beer, water, yogurts, etc. two desk areas, couch, flat screen TV, free Wi Fi. Clean room, AC worked great, quiet, free parking and nice complimentary breakfast each morning. Great value for the $$.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKramers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear TravelingKramers,

Thank you for an excellent review and for sharing your experience of your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely,
Kate K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Your typical mid-range Holiday Inn Express. During the summer expect to pay premium prices due to the tourists.

We booked a block of rooms, and everyone enjoyed their stay. The rooms were clean and the suite was large but had the floorplan of a triangle. A bit odd but it worked.

It is located across from Olde Mystic Village, but you are over a mile from downtown Mystic. The walk to Mystic takes you past a cemetery, Mystic Seaport and homes. Not much on the way.

Complimentary breakfast, indoor hotel pool and free parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went to the 6th Annual Garlic Festival in Olde Mystic Village CT . This Holiday Inn is directly across the street. Clean lobby and rooms. Complimentary hot/ cold breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub for after a long day of walking around village. Boathouse Restaurant adjacent to parking lot good food and reasonably priced and a few steps farther was a Starbucks and small outlet strip mall . Definitely returning next year!!!
Only down side was the fitness room smaller than what is at the Hampton Inn Mystic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is the second time we stayed here and again it was great. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and set up really nice. The breakfast is very good. We would not stay anywhere else in Mystic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyReisterstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear CandyReisterstown,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay and letting us know about your experience. I am happy to read you were pleased with our location, accommodations, the services we offer and most importantly our Team! I will be sharing your comments with our Staff as they always enjoy hearing our guests' feedback. If you are back in the area again, I hope you will visit us again!

Sincerely,
Kate K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
561 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing