We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is great. Brilliant location for the Mystic Aquarium and Village, right off 95. Very nice spacious room with big TV. Excellent free continental breakfast. Everything I would expect from a quality hotel. I didn't go swimming but the pool looked a little small for those that care.

Room Tip: Get an odd numbered room to face the front instead of the back parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    189
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
212
143
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Either the king room are huge or I got an upgrade not really sure. Free wifi and breakfast and indoor pool and hot tube for the kids how can you go wrong. Right next to aquirume and shops you can walk if you want. Near 95. Ask for even numbered room to no look at back parking lot. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stay here about 2 weeks for work. Everything was great. They actually had some top floor rooms with a good view. Good restaurants around walking distance or a short drive into Mystic for some fun/dinning. We started at the Hilton but moved because HI offered a in room fridge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Holiday Inn Mystic exceeded my expectations. In contrast to other reviews, our experience was positive. We had a group of 6 - 3 rooms. The rooms are large and up to date. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. Everything worked as it should - including internet service.

Breakfast is below average in terms of food quality - and the coffee was weak.

Response at check in and check out was prompt, helpful, and friendly.

Overall the cost was a little more than expected, but the facility was clean and positive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right off the highway tucked away on beautiful grounds by a reservoir. Very attentive front desk. We stayed on the concierge level. Other guests could have been more mindful of leaving trays and food in hallway without calling down to have them cleared. Nice pool kids loved it! Very convenient and central to everything

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrotonFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night over 4th of July weekend. It's basically what you'd expect from a hotel in this price-class. (Though I have been in nicer HE Expresses in other locations.) The lobby is very nice, as is the free breakfast, and the employees are very friendly. The rooms, though, leave something to be desired. It's nice that they have the couch and mini-fridge, but they're quite dated. And our bathroom had a faint foot smell to it. We aren't too finicky though, so were able to deal since we were just staying for one night.

My main complaint was related to the "great location" that we'd read about in so many other reviews. I guess I should have read more closely, since the "great location" is more in relation to its proximity to I-95, than its relation to downtown Mystic. I booked expecting us to be within walking distance to the bars, restaurants and waterfront of downtown Mystic. But it's actually about a 10-15 minute drive to that area. (You can walk to a Shell station for a Friendly's though! If that's your thing.) I obviously should've read the reviews more carefully, but my main piece of advice would be, do NOT book this hotel if you plan on being footsteps from the waterfront.

Overall, decent enough place for one night, but probably wouldn't choose it again if we were coming back to Mystic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Jennie521,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am truly sorry to hear that you didn't find our location to your liking. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family has been staying at this Holiday Inn Express almost yearly for the past 6 or so years. We have always been 100% satisfied with our stay...unfortunatley, not the case this time around.
The room was was nice, clean and spacious with comfy beds/pillows. However, the pool area was not up to standards this trip. As repeat customers, with children, we always look forward to the nice indoor pool area and the hot tub is a favorite with my husband. However, this trip we could not even use the facililties. Upon arrival we noticed that the pool was super cloudy--to the point that you could not even see the bottom step or the bottom of the pool-there was also a weird film over the top of the water. My son stuck his foot in and said it was absolutley freezing as well. With the water quality the way it was I would not let him in the water. We checked out the hot tub and it was GREEN!!!! There was stuff mabey algae or somthing all over the walls of the hot tub and the water was green...yuck!! We decided to check it out the following day and there was no improvement. I decided to complain and was told that the pool was safe to swim in and that the chemical levels were right where they should be--I don't think so!! No way was I going to allow my child to swim in that water! On Wednesday morning we went in to see if there had been any change....the doors were propped open and the smell of chemicals was overwheliming. There was only the tiniest change in water quality in the pool as far as clarity, but the weird film on top was still there and the hot tub was still tinged green! Just standing in the pool area for a few minutes casued my eyes to actually water!! By evening the entire first floor hallway smelled of pool chemicals!!

There were also several times when we needed somthing at the front desk and we had to wait for some time for someone to come to the desk area...this was never an issue previous years...perhaps the hotel has changed management??

Sorry to say that on our next trip to Mystic, we will be looking at other options for our lodging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sarah,

I'm so sorry to hear about what happened during your stay. We were having some issues with the pool but they have now since been taken care of. Still, I feel that this was unacceptable. I would like to speak with you further about this issue, please email me at sophieb.hiexmystic@yahoo.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing