We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed May 3, 2008

My friend and I and our 10 year old sons had a very nice stay. The room was exactly as described. We had two queen beds plus a pull-out sofa for the boys. There was ample room. The beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect for exploring the Mystic area. Located a 5 minute walk from the Aquarium, and a 15 minute walk from downtown Mystic. The pool was small, but adequate for kids. I would not find it appealing to swim in as an adult. Breakfast was more than adequate. They offered a variety of breads, muffins, cereals, fruit, eggs (pre-made), sausage or bacon, yogurts, milk, juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. The staff was accommodating and the rooms were clean. I would definately stay here again, and would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Liked — convenience to sights
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank coolbreezeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    189
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
212
143
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Perfectly located within walking distance to Mystic Village. Just a few minutes drive to Downtown Mystic. (drawbridge and pizza)
Concierge and Staff polite and helpful. Room was clean and spacious.

  • Disliked — parking limited
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fryegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This is the third time we stayed here and were still pleased with our stay. The rooms are large,clean and well-maintained.The hotel is in a great location and has a nice indoor pool for our five year old to swim in. The breakfast was good too. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QueensNYtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Expected the same quality as previous stays at this chain, but had several problems, including: a broken hair dryer, moldy shower curtain, and dirty drinking glasses. The bed was comfortable, but these other issues ruined it. Thankfully, we were only booked for one night. I informed the hotel of the problems and wrote letters, but never received an apology. Big disappointment!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhodytraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s. coast of Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

As a family of eight we have a hard time coming across affordable accommodations. I've had good experience with Spring Hill Suites having rooms big enough to sleep all of us, and was glad to find out that Holiday Inn Express had suites available with two queen beds and a pullout sofa.

Holiday Inn Express Mystic is set on a hill overlooking I-95, Olde Mistick Village and the Mystic Marinelife Aquarium. One can easily walk to either, and there is also a Starbucks, McDonald's, and grocery store within easy walking distance as well as a good restaurant right next door.

The room was very clean. The windows open 4 inches, which I liked. Fresh air, but not dangerous for small children. Unlike Spring Hill Suites, this suite only had one television. It was enough for us. The Internet was not wireless, but the cord was available and the service was free. The beds were extremely comfortable and double-sheeted.

The bathroom was very clean, and the fixtures were modern and attractive. The entire building seemed very new and I am pretty sure it is about 5 years old. There was a drip coffee maker, complimentary coffee, refrigerator, microwave, and ironing board/iron in the room. In the vending area on our floor (next to the "gym" which included one treadmill, one stairclimber, and one bike) had a soda machine that didn't work and a ice cream machine.

The pool is small and clean; the area around the pool was clean. The water was almost too warm. The hot tub was out of order when we were there.

We had no issues with the service and this was very affordable.

There is a fairly extensive breakfast buffet, but I would have liked to have seen more seating and fresh fruit available.

We were able to park out front since we returned to the hotel by about 7 pm each evening. The parking in front filled up later in the evening.

The lobby area is attractive, with expansive ceiling and gas fireplace.

  • Liked — Size of room; comfort of beds
  • Disliked — Quality of the coffee.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WidowMomOf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline CT
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

After reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, I did not expect too much from this hotel. The rate was good and the location was excellent (right across the street from the village and the aquarium), so I booked it. I arrived to find the hotel very clean, the lobby/breakfast area well appointed and the staff friendly. The pool was small, but all was clean and functional. The rooms were much larger than some of the higher end chains that I am used to staying in for business. This was a pleasure trip with my children, and all of us enjoyed the hotel. I expected just a simple cold breakfast and was surprised to find sausage, eggs and biscuits and gravy too! Although there is no room service (no restaurant on prem), there is a decent restaurant in the same parking lot. Book this hotel with confidence.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No bar/restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank daisy20071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights along with other family and friends. The rooms were spacious and clean. The indoor pool is small, but there is a a spa pool as well. The breakfast selection was fairly good. The only negative - the reception staff were not especially helpful when it came to arranging taxi's and were easily confused by several bookings by family members with the same surname.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms
  • Disliked — Unhelpful Front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing