We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, clean, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights for a business trip. It was easy to find, right off the highway. It is a bit away from the center of the village; too far to quick walk. Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and was sufficient for my needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walter_sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    182
    63
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
137
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel close to Foxwoods. This came up, its about 15 min away. To my surprise there is so much to do in Mystic and this hotel is close to everything!! Nice hotel, GREAT location, clean and HUGE rooms! Free breakfast was great, something for everyone. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2pg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

.....a blizzard ambushed us in Mystic and Rt95 was moving at 4mph if that. So we got a room.
The good was room was well 'roomy'. 2 TVs sink, kitcheonette, etc.
but......and its a big but, twas run down and dirty. Not everywhere but the foldout couch bed had old food in it! and the security door latch was about to just fall off. Needed to borrow a screwdriver to do the sorta repair myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Kalcan,

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We constantly work to ensure that every guest has a wonderful experience at our hotel and I am disappointed to hear that you were not left with such an impression.
While I can not take back your experience at the hotel, please be certain that I appreciate your honesty and will do everything in my power to ensure future guests do not have a similar visit.

Best regards,

Kate K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divadeb51
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a couple nights during winter school break-went online and found a good price for a jacuzzi suite-here at the Holiday Inn Express-we had always stayed downtown in one of the inns but one was completely booked and the other one a bit out of our budget! Anyway-we were really pleased with the Holiday Inn-the front desk girl was so nice when we checked in-the room was good size and quiet, comfy bed too. The breakfast was pretty good-LOTS of variety- different each day-we loved the cinnamon buns especially. There were a couple things that we didn't care for-one was that there was no light by my husband's side of the bed for reading-we moved one from the desk, also the toilet paper dispenser was on the far left-under the cabinet and a real bugger to get too-I know that's a little thing but...still a pain-literally!!! Also was surprised that the maid hadn't come into our room to make up the bed or check if we needed clean towels-one of the best things about staying at a hotel is a nice freshly made bed when you come back from being out and about. All in all we would recommend this hotel and would come back for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divadeb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easter22
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I are members of Mystic Aquarium who live in NYC. A few times per year, we visit the Aquarium (which is great) and always stay here. It's walking distance to the Aquarium, and a short drive to both Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun casinos and historic Mystic. We make a romantic weekend of it because we enjoy the pool and jacuzzi, and the fridge in our room for bubbly and snacks. We like the huge flat screen TV and king size bed with a sofa too. Nice cinnamon scented amenities. We make a tray from the morning breakfast buffet and have breakfast in bed. In warm weather, there is an area outside the pool to sunbathe on chaises. In cool weather, there is a gas fire pit too. Quite nice for a Holiday Inn and the price is affordable. Only drawback - sometimes pool is full of loud, out-of-control kids with parents who don't supervise them at all. Have to pick your times for pool and Jacuzzi. We find afternoons are best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear FitNYC,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Iam very pleased that you were happy with your stay. I appreciate the 5 out of 5 and look forward to sharing your review with the Staff. Hope to welcome you soon at our hotel again!

Sincerely,

Kate K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroflay
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is completely OK with the HI standards. Very nice welcome.
Rooms are quiet and good for the price. Comfortable beds.
Good location to visit Mystic Seaport and Newport. 30 minutes away from the nearest beach (but worthwhile)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear AnetMichel,


Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you have noticed the location of our hotel. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Hope we will see you soon at our location again!

Sincerely,
Kate Kontsevaya
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Mystic. It was the second time we stayed there, but it had been almost 4 years in between stays. Not much had changed in the 4 years. We had a large room with 2 queen beds. The spacious room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The sofa bed was old and I was glad we did not need it as a bed as it looked worn out and uncomfortable. The TV was relatively new, but the reception and picture were poor. There is a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The bathroom was small, but well appointed. We are Priority Club members and the young woman at the front desk was pleasant, but our "special bonus" for a being Priority Club members turned out to an expired bag of chips! Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare. It was school vacation week so there were lots of families and at times it was difficult to get food because of all the kids, but I always appreciate the convenience of the free breakfast. We did not use the pool, but could see it was busy with families. The location is good and there is a grocery store around the corner. It is pet free. Overall it was a good value and I would recommend it for a family getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room with queen beds for the same price as the double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green1Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Green1Ma,

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.3 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Mystic Groton
1.3 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing