We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights, while making daily day trips to all directions in New England. The room we had was very modern, clean, spacious and had every amenity that we wanted. We had a microwave oven, a refrigerator, and a very nice work desk/area. The entire hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, in that it is close to the aquarium, Olde Mistick Village shopping area and convenient to downtown Mystic. This was the third year that we have stayed at this hotel and we look forward to our next opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    189
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
212
143
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, mass
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great convienent place with great breakfast included, clean. Help very courtious, breakfast always well stocked with the largest bagels i have seen in a while..only bad comment is the pancake machine was out of service and the breakfast hrs for the weekend ended at 9:39, should be extended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jostor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect spot right across from the Aquarium, Old Mystic Village, right next to the Steak Loft and a very short drive to the Seaport! We stayed in a king room which has pull out sofa. The room was very large compared to other hotels and this was the best priced hotel in the area. Our room was very clean and the bed was one of the more comfortable beds I have had at a hotel. The staff was friendly but we only dealt with them at check in /out so there wasn't alot of interaction with them. The free breakfast was just ok but the pancake machine was not working when we were there so maybe that would have made it better. The only complaint I have about the place is the pool area is all smooth tiles which when wet (which they are always going to be around a pool and hot tub) are EXTREMELY slippery. My three year old loves to jump into the water but we couldn't let him do that here because everytime he got out he would fall down. We saw about 4 other kids there that were also slipping all over. So when using the pool with littler ones be careful as it can be pretty dangerous. Other then that we had a wonderful stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arme14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here in late Aug. 2012 and the location was fantastic. The desk staff was ok, nothing great; I think the best description would be "wooden". Rooms...Surface (quick) clean but definitely not maintained. Yes, the hotel has been renovated and the entrance is very nice, but the rooms were in need of help. As others have noted, you can see where furniture has been moved & dust, etc remains, walls & wallpaper needs fixing, mold on top of walls in bathroom. In searching the room to make sure my daughter didn't leave any toys, etc, I came across a sock from a previous visitor (under the bed skirt). Bed was comfortable, no complaints and again, location couldn't have been better. Walk to Olde Mystic shops, restaurants and aquarium. Short and easy drive to Seaport w/ good parking available. Bottom line, I'd probably stay there again as price was better than other hotels in area but might bring my own vacuum LOL!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Laurie B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Mystic. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located across from Olde Mystic Village and the Aquarium. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. Rooms with a king bed also feature a sleeper sofa, making it perfect for our family. The pool and whirlpool were a lot of fun. Guests can also purchase tickets to the aquarium at a discount. Compared to other area hotels, you can't beat the value. The service at the front desk could have been friendlier, however she was efficient. Overall, great value and location. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: If visiting aquarium, ask front desk about discounted tickets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room was huge compared to what we were use to. The staff was nice, the hotel was quiet and was in a great location to all the attractions. The kids enjoyed the pool also. The bathroom was a little on the small side - but was clean. THe breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdogiakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Pa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is in a great location to visit the Mystic area. The hotel is in very good condition and the rooms were very nice. The check-in staff was great and let us in early even, then being a platinum member has some benefits.

The only negative was the women at the front desk overnight. I'm an ealry riser and would go to the dining area around 5:45 and allow my wife to sleep in and I have to say she was a bit grumpy for me. When asked for the password to get on line on my laptop she first tells me its on the check-in card, ok I don't have that with me. She then rattles it off, nothing obvious, easy to remember. So I ask her repeat and I right it down, it doesn't work, I ask her again this time I interrupt her as she is playing a facebook game in the business center. I get quick quip did you use all capital letters? No -Did you tell me to use all caps? Never left her game. Not a big thing just rubbed me the wrong way, when you know there was no need for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTHammer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing