We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mystic Express - Historic Harbor Tours of Mystic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you visit Mystic, don't miss this little gem of an activity. At the East end of the Drawbridge near S&P Oyster Co, a small sign invites you to take a boat tour of the harbor - departing every half hour beginning at 11 am. The cost is $10 for adults and is a great bargain.
We were greeted by Captain Carl as we gathered for the tour. A few minutes before 11, the Captain maneuvered the vessel so that the boarding ramp abutted the dock and securely tied The Mystic Express to the mooring posts enabling all to board conveniently. About a dozen passengers chose our seats (the capacity is 21). After some concise safety instructions, Captain Carl described what we were about to see on our 1/2 hour harbor tour. He handed out laminated cards with a navigational map on one side and a guide to the historic homes of Captains' Row that we would be passing on the other. Shortly after 11, we were under way.
As we sailed on the river past Captains' Row, we approached Mystic Seaport with its historic ships and sailing camp for kids. All along the ride, Captain Carl described the educational and restoration activities at the seaport as well as sharing tales of seafaring traditions such as tattooing and how to interpret the information provided by Coast Guard buoys. Notable homes built a century ago were pointed out along with the latest in restaurants about town. Near the end of our tour, we approached the Drawbridge, and learned of its operation.
If this sounds like it must have taken more than a mere 30 minutes, you are correct. The little cruise was closer to an hour.
If you are only stopping in Mystic for a short visit, this tour is ideal!

10  Thank CarolBqueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights with our kids for a visit to Mystic. We splurged on the 2 queen bed suite, and it was definitely worh it (at $220/night). The suite had a bedroom separate from the "living" area, which had a couch, kitchenette, lounge chair and writing desk. Best of all, the floors were faux hard wood, not carpeted.

Overall, the hotel was clean and new. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The included breakfast was exactly what you woudl expect -- cold cereals, microwaved eggs, bacon, rolls, coffee and juice. The pool was well maintained, and never too crowded.

The location was wonderful -- just down the street from the aquarium, and a short car ride to the Seaport and downtonw Mystic. It is also across the street from Old Mystic Village, but we never made it there.

Our first day we arrived in the middle of the afternoon and were starving -- we ate at the Boathouse restaurant, which is right next to the hotel. We loved the lobster roll!

Room Tip: If you are a family with kids, splurge for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed one night on a road trip on the spur of the moment and were able to get a decent AAA rate (considering the area and last minute). Check in staff was not a native English speaker and was a little hard to understand. Nice big attractive lobby area.

Room was HUGE, clean, and very nicely appointed. Could hear the people above us thumping and jumping around - sounded like little kids. The fitness room is a joke - 2 treadmills and an eliptical and that is it, my son was very disappointed. The included full breakfast buffet was good - tasty food, well stocked, and plenty of options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were taking our grandson to the Aquarium and booked two rooms. We have used this hotel or the Hilton since we started visiting Mystic many years ago. The footprint of the old hotel can still be seen behind it and when it was first built they used the old hotel for overflow.

The high ceilings and nice furniture in the large lobby/breakfast area is impressive for a Holiday Inn Express. Our Sunday afternoon check in was polite and acceptable as usual. We were booked for two nights and the rooms were correct and on the third floor. I had requested that our rooms would be next to each other and they were. Our large clean room had a table with two chairs, a couch, two beds, a flat screened TV, microwave and mini fridge. It did not have a ergonomic chair which I missed. Everything was clean and tidy and the air conditioner worked great. It has a digital wall mount control and you could set it to the exact temperature you wanted. We used the pool area and enjoyed the hot tub. There are towels in the pool area and our grandson had fun playing in the water. The breakfast on Monday morning was a little crowded because there were two large wedding groups. The attendant was very good at making sure nothing ran out. We enjoyed the nice breakfast provided. They have a pan cake machine that makes two cakes at a time that was very popular. There is nothing to do, just press the button and it starts the process. They are a little tough on the outside but good. Not a remarkable motel but dependable and we had a nice visit. There are many hotel choices in the area and this one can be a little pricey for a HIE.

Room Tip: Ten Clams in the Mystic Village across the street is very kid friendly and is reasonably priced food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel was excellent in every way. Nice comfortable rooms and very good hot breakfast, conveniently located

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richiepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We only stayed at this hotel for one night. We were arrving about 6pm so we called ahead to let them know so our room was not given away. The person at the desk was very helpful and courteous. Upon arrival we were checked in quickly and provided with any information needed about the hotel. The hotel was CLEAN and had a very nice scent upon walking in the main doors. Our room was nice. It had a double closet, king size bed, nice size flat screen tv, sleeper sofa, desk w/ chair, hutch w/ cabinets, mini microwave and fridge. It was perfect for us to use with our 3 young children. The room, bed sheets and bathroom were all clean. The shower could have used some updating. The a/c unit worked very good!! The king bed was very comforable. However, the pull out sleeper sofa was HORRIBLE. It had a super thin mattress and it creaked every time you moved an inch. I have stayed at other HI and HI Exp and never have had a sleeper sofa so uncomfortable. TG it was only one night. The rest of the hotel was nice. The common bathrooms were even clean. The pool was small and looked well kept. We did not use it. The continental breakfast was good. Had your average food/beverage you would find at a CB. They kept it well stocked during the serving hours. The grounds were well kept and there was ample parking. We would stay at this hotel again. Also, if you are going to the Aquarium, ask at the front desk re: discount tickets. You can get a good discount.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbj379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Holiday Inn Express Mystic was very clean, comfortable, and inviting. Employees were friendly and helpful. We stayed for 5 nights and found this hotel to be very pleasant. We will return and recommend to others. Definitely go to the Bleu Squid for lunch!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treed45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
795 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $82 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing