We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea Swirl still a great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Swirl

Sea Swirl
Ranked #38 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sea Swirl of Mystic was formerly a street side Carvel Ice Cream shop. It is located at 30 Williams Avenue at the junction of Routes 1 & 27 in Connecticut. Sea Swirl offers the best of fried clams and fantastic seafood plus has one of the most beautiful sunsets on the horizon. Outdoor dining overlooks the flood tide and customers can enjoy delicious ice cream as well. Sea Swirl may seem like an unlikely place to find four-star food, but for many years now, it has sustained a deserved reputation as one of the finest places to eat fried clams, especially the whole-belly variety. Sea Swirl serves a full roster of expertly fried seafood, including scallops, shrimp and fish. For an alternative to seafood, there are hamburgers, hotdogs, chicken sandwiches and more.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea Swirl still a great place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just ate there yesterday the last day of our trip. We got there late, five minutes before closing but they still served us a great meal. Scallops were great, shrimp amazing and fish and chips really good. The fries could use some upgrading to match the rest of the food. The people working there were great staying late to make sure our meal was wonderful, will surely eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racefobeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    52
    23
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best fish (cod) sandwich on the shoreline.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is your traditional simple clam shack along the shoreline. Although it does not really have a full sea view (There is a tarp-covered seating area by the inlet across the carpark), it more than makes up for it by serving fried-to-order fresh thick cod sandwiches and other seafood. Fries are ho-hum but that's not what people come here for.

Lettuce and tomatoes are extra.

Opens around noon till 8pm on average Memorial Day through Labour Day and then on reduced hours (weekends only) from Labour Day through (roughly) Columbus Day. After Labour Day, they might close early if there is a lull in traffic.

Overall something we look forward to each season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tleemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NEVER again!!"!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

drove 5 hours from Maine because we lived here for over 25 years and wanted some great seafood. NOPE. Clam Fritters were hard and burned, clams were soggy and cold, and fried mushrooms were hard. When I told the lady that worked at the window she said I was the second person today who said that the clams were soggy. she wanted me to speak to the manager but he was on the phone. I waited a couple of minutes and this young guy with a dirty sweatshirt said can I help you. I told him the issue and said go get the food out of the bag and bring it to him. I did and he looked it over and made a rude comment and turned and walked away. when I asked if he was the manager he turned around and said yes. I then asked for the owners name and he said he was the owner. I got my money refunded but I will NEVER go there again!!!!! EVER.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Net1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ugh #2!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Like the Sea View, this place does nothing for me, at all. We're from VA and have just concluded a week in CT & ME eating mostly at shacks, pounds, and stands and this place just doesn't cut it in my view. The fried scallops were mushy and oily and the fish just okay. We may have hit them at a bad time but for the prices they charge (and since we weren't paying ambiance or service), there shouldn't be a bad time for the food.

Give me the Clam Castle in Madison anytime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meeza4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ugh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sorry folks, but we went here on the final day of a weeklong trip to CT & ME and I have to say it and the Sea Swirl just don't stack up well to other shacks. Clearly, they need to change the frying oil -- the clams and fish were soggy and had a similarly objectionable aftertaste.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meeza4614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Swirl also viewed

 

Been to Sea Swirl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing