We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good... a great find in Mystic...”
Review of Anthony J's Bistro

Anthony J's Bistro
Ranked #19 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
997 reviews
708 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Really good... a great find in Mystic...”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a really good locally owned restaurant. We've been a few times and always enjoy it.

Bravo Bravo has gone downhill over the past few years, so we've been coming here instead on occasion and the food always seems to be fresh, with interesting/delicious specials on the menu that are definitely worth a try.

It's not upscale or fine dining by any stretch, but don't let that stop you coming... great service, great food and well worth a visit...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    103
    27
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Rhode Island, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So glad I found you.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were perusing the Art Festival when we came upon Anthony J's Bistro. They seated us right away on the porch for drinks and appetizers and we immediately felt far removed from the crowds on the streets. The signature martini, a lemony concoction of Citron Vodka and limoncello in a sugar rimmed glass, was cool and refreshing. Proscuitto wrapped scallops were tasty, sweet and tender and the calamari fritti was spicy good. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. Going back for the veal meatballs and ceasar salad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It Starts with the Aroma!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

You just have to go to AJ's. It starts upon arrival to this cozy restaurant...it's the aroma of the food...it's unbelievably delicious!! Even before tasting the food, we knew it would be great. AJ's has a cozy feel, a small but inviting bar with great bartenders. Being from out of town, they made us feel welcome immediately. We ordered some appetizers...you must try the fried mozzarella...delisioso!! For dinner I ordered the lobster ravioli. It was the best I have ever had...ever! It was a restaurant experience I would recommend to everyone...we were in Mystic for two nights...and went to AJ's both nights!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellissima34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband came to Anthony J's on opening night in 1984 when we lived in Mystic. Says a lot about the quality of the service and food that they are still in business almost 30 years later! We were back in the area and gave them a try and we are glad we did. Enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Hope they are here for the next 30 years!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photolover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My mom and I stopped in really because we were so hot and needed a drink and to cool off. The food was excellent and the service was slow it very friendly. We got a mozzarella salad and broccoli rate and sausage appetizer. Both were excellent. The bread and dipping oil was spectacular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim30Chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthony J's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing