We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystic meal”
Review of Anthony J's Bistro

Anthony J's Bistro
Ranked #18 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Denver, Co.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mystic meal”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is a pleasant outside patio. Last weekend of the summer and ever other restaurant had long lines. There was no waiting at Anthony's and the service and the eggplant parmigiana was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    102
    27
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northridge Ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I really really wanted to give this a better rating”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Because we sat outside on the patio which was lovely especially after the couple with the screaming kid left when she wasn't given her way.(Why do parents think its ok to let their kid run around screaming and coming up to your table while people are trying to enjoy their meal) Our waitress was wonderful. We had drinks with our appetizer, bread and salad which was good. Then came the main entree. I ordered Chicken Marsala w/ Gnocchi and my husband ordered the Cioppino. The chicken Marsala was terrible I couldn't even eat it. I know I should have sent it back but I didn't feel like waiting for another meal to be cooked because the restaurant was very crowded. The Marsala Sauce was thick and sickly sweet, the chicken was dry and the Gnoochi was hard as a rock. My husband's Cioppino while the sauce was good, the seafood was small. The mussels inside the shells were tiny same with the claims. Oh well. We were only in Mystic one night so maybe other Entrees are good, maybe we just didn't pick the right one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TereseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excessive Charges”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are locals who have enjoyed Anthony J's in the past. I have even given them a previous good review. This past Saturday my husband and I went there for lunch. He had the Sicilian pasta, no bread or salad, for $14. I had a hamburger, $9, with a side of coleslaw, no fries. I asked for lettuce and tomato on the burger. During the meal, my husband asked for bread. When the bill came, we found that the $14 pasta was $19, $5 was charged for the bread. I was charged $1.00 for the slice of tomato and $1.00 for the lettuce. My burger was now $11. Do they really expect to keep customers coming back when you charge for these "extras?'
No mention of these extra costs were anywhere on the menu. Anthony J's needs locals to keep coming back. There are too many other restaurants in the area that we can frequent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyTierraVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1985 Lives!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When you see white zinfandel on the wine list you know your in the wrong place.
Should have trusted the time proven test of looking at the wine list. It is 99 percent accurate in gauging the expected food experience at a purported fine dining establishment. If the wine list is awful, the rest will typically follow. And it did!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Food is Excellent - Prices are a bit high!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stopped in here for dinner while on a business trip in the area. I noticed that the place was a bit crowded and many folks were requesting the outside patio for seating. They seem to specialize in something that is served on a hot stone or tableside grill (many people were ordering it). I chose the Veal Parm and it was some of the best italian food I have ever eaten. Done perfectly and served with a salad and side of pasta. Now the price kind of surprised me - with an iced tea, the total was $41 with tax a tip (for 1 person). Wow - it was really good but seriously? This would be a great place for a date or special occasion but not the normal meal out for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geocaching Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthony J's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing