We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bravo Bravo Restaurant

Bravo Bravo Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 98 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 4 had dinner there this week. My wife and I stumbled across this gem about 18 months go in a snowstorm in December on our way to the Ocean House in Westerly RI. On this trip we did a reprise and it was as good as the first time. Very good and creative food. Excellent breads. Great service. Nice wine list by the glass and bottle. I had the grilled salmon on creamy polenta, my wife the pasta seafood special. Both were excellent. We ordered an appetizer of burratta cheese with honey and truffle oil that was unique and fabulous. I have also been to S&P Oyster Company across the street which offers good food in slightly larger portions than Bravo, but significantly less creative, for about the same price. S&P is a better class of the seafood restaurants you tend to find in many locales near the water, but I think Bravo is better food for the same price in the downtown Mystic scene.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A28ensemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    114
    25
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
234 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in the heart of Mystic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been to Bravo Bravo many times and finally decided to share. The food is always wonderful. The mussels are the best ever and the chef is quite clever with specials. The only complaint is the noise. It's always fool and quite lively. They will cater to children as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cbarney2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not much on ambiance but food is excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

As other reviewers commented, it does lack some of the charm of other restaurants in Mystic. Yet it makes up for it with excellent food and service. The quality is outstanding with a variety on a menu that is the right size, not overwhelming. When it town I will certainly visit in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service, Fair Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sunday night, Summertime in Mystic, a very busy place, it is not easy to find a good restaurant. We had my six year old gourmand grandson with us. He shared a good Caesar salad with me. Then he ordered the mussel appetizer, and had it served over linguini. He did not leave a morsel. I had the Cioppino, with shrimp, scallops, mussels, clams and a piece of lobster claw. The sauce was delicious, on the spicy side. My wife had a shrimp dish served over linguini, she enjoyed it very much. For dessert, we had the donuts, with vanilla gelato served over a puree of granny smith apples, with a caramel sauce. It was outrageous, there is nothing like fresh donuts. The place can get a bit noisy, but the food and service make up for it. It isn't cheap, but good food in this setting rarely is cheap. I would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gourmand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality Is the Main Ingredient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times and never have I been disappointed. Everything is fresh and seasoned beautifully. The meal starts with really good bread and very nice olive oil. My husband and I had a light lunch with the Caesars salad with chicken seasoned perfectly and the chicken moist and delicious. The portion was smaller then I expected and a little pricer than should have been. The restaurant is really loud. The good really outweighs the bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bravo Bravo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing