We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”
Review of Steak Loft

Steak Loft
Ranked #28 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mystic's best steakhouse and top seafood restaurant are one and the same.Voted Connecticut Magazine's Reader's Choice Award for Best Steak everyyear since 1983! And our fresh seafood selections and create-your-own salad bar are just as delicious. Come visit us in the Olde Mistick Village for great food, great drinks and live entertainment in our Lounge!
Succasunna
Level Contributor
142 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very good food. A bit pricey if you are ordering steaks. Service is good. Large restaurant so they are several seating areas Salad bar is small but well maintained by the staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSuccasunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    259
    180
    81
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok , but not great.”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch with my husband on the day before a wedding for which we had traveled to Mystic. The bar restaurant definitely had a strange odor and the setting was not cozy or warm. The decor had a dated bar look and feel . However, the service was extremely good and the food was above average. I especially enjoyed the tomato bisque and my husband the chili nachos. The restaurant was better at pleasing my husband , who returned the next day with our son . The cheeseburger was very satisfying to him.

Helpful?
Thank NJcruiserMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ma, Meatloaf !!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

While not considered an upscale item it is tough to find a "Good" meatloaf prepared and served when dining out. This was good quality, not dry and nice texture. Mashed red skin potatoes were on point. Not your average dump from a polly bag onto the plate.The salad bar offerings are also good quality but some may find it limited. My preference is always Quality over Quantity. Our server Beth was attentive and efficient. Our request for some extra salad bar grazing time before our entrees were served was granted. But beware in the end we grazed too long and could not finish our meals. Also the Rodney Strong Cabernet served by the glass was fresh and oh so smooth. Cheese cake to go was yummy but the strawberry topping had a slightly "Old" and faded apperance. This was our second trip to the Steak Loft and we are sure it will be included in our future visits to Mystic. I must add open untill 10pm Sunday nights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to dine.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

While visiting the Submarine base at New London we had heard of this restaurant and decided try it. The food choices were great, prices reasonable and the wait staff, in particular, Lori L., was terrific.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jam050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, Usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good price, good value”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everything about this place is right - good food, good service, good price, good value. Having gone for many years and been there multiple times this year, I have to disagree with the reviewers who seem disappointed of late. It is one of the few places around that still offer a salad bar and the variety is a pleasant change from the bland salads available anyplace else. The breads are outstanding. The chowder is excellent (not the usual thickened potato-laden effort that most restaurants offer). Entrees are well prepared, flavorful, and amply portioned. We have never left feeling anything other than satisfied, full, and glad we went to the Steak Loft (and we travel one hour to get there!). Be forewarned, there consistently is a wait to be seated on Friday through Sunday because locals know that the Steak Loft offers good value. Arriving at the beginning of dinner service avoids the wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Loft also viewed

 

Been to Steak Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing