We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still thinking about that steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak Loft

Steak Loft
Ranked #25 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mystic's best steakhouse and top seafood restaurant are one and the same.Voted Connecticut Magazine's Reader's Choice Award for Best Steak everyyear since 1983! And our fresh seafood selections and create-your-own salad bar are just as delicious. Come visit us in the Olde Mistick Village for great food, great drinks and live entertainment in our Lounge!
Southeastern CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still thinking about that steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Although I haven't been there in a while, the steak was perfectly cooked and sooo tasty! Dessert not bad either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canyondaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    257
    177
    80
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A old standby when you want great food, the salad bar is great and the steaks melt in your moutn, little pricey but worth the money, they have entertainment in the lounge on the weekends.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank simba12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing & Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

What a disappointment. My husband and I went here for our anniversary; we haven't been in years and we remembered it as being very good. What a mistake we made.

Our waitress was very nice, but that was the only good thing about our experience. The salad bar is old & tired with very few fresh veggies for the actual salad; it's mostly cold & greasy pasta salads. My husband's steak was unseasoned and chewy. My broiled scallops were gritty and also burnt on the top, as was the completely bland twice-baked potato. I actually needed to use my knife to break through the top of the potato.

We each ordered dessert; carrot cake and a tuxedo cake, both of which tasted frozen and thawed. Definitely not homemade.

With a rum & coke for him and a glass of wine for me, this all came to &110 after tip. What a waste of money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The steaks available here were very good and the prices were reasonable. The apple crisp with ice cream is phenomenal!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stringy Steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Steak Loft in Mystic Ct, is a large retaurant with the usual steakhouse dark panel decor. The steaks we ordered were, we agreed, stringy and not really restaurant quality,unless your restaurant is Bob's Big Boy. Steak fries were thick and crisp but tasteless.

There isn't much else to say. I read in another review that the writer had loved the scallops, so the next time I find myself at the Steak Loft I'll try them and write another review if necessary. It's not always possible to judge a restaurant on one visit, but I do so anyway.

Decent service, decent cocktails, but the overall meal was lacking.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Loft also viewed

 

Been to Steak Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing