We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Food and the Setting”
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, South American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved the Food and the Setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous lunch at S&P. The setting was beautiful, right on the water. My husband and I both had seafood selections, drinks, and dessert. Our food was excellent. Our server was pleasant and responsive. They were able to give me a gluten free menu and gluten free breads. Prices for lunch were a little pricey but worth it. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandywayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,325
    591
    204
    88
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, average food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The restaurant is on a perfect setting along the Mystic River with plenty of outdoor seating for a spectacular view of the boats and famous drawbridge. We ordered the seafood potato skins as an appetizer, which were very good, and the lobster bisque, which was a little too thick for our liking. My cup had only one chunk of lobster, although it was a generous sized chunk. For dinner we ordered the seafood mac & cheese and the crab cakes. The mac & cheese was full of seafood, but a few of the pieces tasted dry, and there wasn't enough "cheesiness" in the sauce to make up for it. The crab cakes were not the best I've had. Overall, the best part of the dining experience was the view - wish we had enjoyed the food more.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location great, nothing else”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

While you couldn't ask for a better location, the rest of the visit was very overrated. The service was not good, a lot of waiting and looking for our server. The food was very bland and without any noticeable skill level in presentation or taste.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
262 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“too many spills and did not care”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a real TT - tourist trap. The food is fair, the service inexperienced, and the management uncaring. There was an unprocessed root in my gazpacho and then the clearer spilled coffee from a teaspoon on my white jeans. The manager said "sorry" and little else. He could have comped the coffee! Not worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spoyster, Guest Relations Manager at S & P Oyster Co, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Traveler,

It is important you know how serious we take our reviews and customer feedback. Our long-standing reputation has been earned through 23 years of our friends, families, and business travelers choosing to dine with us. If at any point we have an unhappy customer, we do everything we reasonably can to turn things around. On the rare occasion that a spill does occur, it is our standard protocol for the manager on duty to address the spill and assess the damage. The guest is given a business card with our information to report any excess cleaning needed. The stem in the gazpacho only goes to show that our Chef uses only the freshest ingredients and that our gazpacho is made on a daily basis. If you would like to discuss this review in further detail, do not hesitate to contact me at sales@sp-oyster.com.

Safe Travels,
Allison Socha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“survey”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Was my first time in that restaurant. The food was average and its was very hot outside. And I thought it was a little expansive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine2014159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing