We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Everything”
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, South American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Fantastic Everything”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were dinning at lunch and the experience was wonderful. The food was suburb and the service from our waitress was way off the charts. She made the lunch a meal we will not forget. The food was prepared to perfection. We loved the clam chowder, some of the best we have ever had. We even order 4 bowls of clam chowder to take back home to Georgia. The setting on the seaport was just breath taking. Thank you Linda!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmomGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,369
    611
    214
    93
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location $ Food !”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Only thing that keeps me away from an Excellent is it being pricey. Location right under the bridge ia awsome. We sat at the bar upstairs while waiting for table and then ate outside on the river. Very good service. My wife had a $20 salad (with shrimp) on the small side, my daughter ate off the childrens menu (up to 16) and had a small, probably 5 once steak and a cup of fries. The Chilian Sea Bass (its really Patagonian Tooth Fish) Encrusted with a green chili and cilantro pesto, finished with a roasted red pepper sauce and served with Chinese black risotto for $32,--Again was expecting a little larger piece of fish-- was awsome. Great food, service, and location but should be a little more generous with portions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corrinesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Fine dining at its best. My husband and I have dined here and at hundreds of restaurants all over the globe, and S&P has remained our favorite. We spent our anniversary in mystic last year and ate there of course among many other occasions. The service is always fantastic. The food is always amazing and out of this world, and the views at sunset are unparalleled for charming New England town. We always leave there happy and full. The food is certainly a bit pricey, but they make it worth every cent.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for and gluten free options”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Incredible view out the windows, or sit outside. I would call ahead if you want to sit outside, it was an hour wait for lunch. The service was great, the food was absolutely incredible, and they had no trouble with making gluten free for me. There were quite a few seafood options, and I don't think that there is a bad choice on the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything great”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great choice of beer (loved the Mystic bridge IPA), great food, good service, girls loved the white sangria. Not a cheap night out but you get what you pay for and good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AllyJC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S & P Oyster Co also viewed

 

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing