We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food”
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, South American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located just steps from the draw bridge in Mystic this stylish restaurant offers great food with a strong seafood bias. My PEI mussels were a little small but what should one expect in July? The seafood broil was a delight with perfectly cooked scallops, shrimp and cod. At $150 for three it was a good value meal served in pleasing surroundings and good views of Mystic river. We did not take the opportunity to eat on the terrace due to the heat wave but had it been a little cooler, this would have enhanced the experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1957Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,372
    615
    215
    94
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Awesome service, great food. We had the lobster bisque, crab salad, lobster tacos and the S&P pasta dish.... seafood was fresh and amazingly prepared. Nice ambiance and location, waitress was very nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brielle503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Dine”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

They provide excellent food in a restaurant with good ambience. Convenient downtown Mystic location.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to Expectations”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I went here for our first anniversary dinner. We used their priority seating which was great; we were able to skip the waiting list and get a table within 5 minutes of our arrival. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. My steak was good but wasn't anything special. My husband loved his seafood dish. We would definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mystic's Wonderful Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Five of us dined at this restaurant last night, We were seated upstairs and had an excellent view of the sun setting over the Mystic River near the Seaport and drawbridge that rises so the boats can cross U.S. 1. Our server introduced himself and wrote his name with a crayon on the table cloth. We were not going to forget his name.

We studied the menu that was filled with delightful seafood selections and there were grilled meats on the menu, too. This is probably the best seafood menu that I have ever seen. The soup today was gazpacho and that went well with my meal on this very warm evening. My entree was the an assortment oifbroiled seafood including flounder, scallops, and shrimp. That was served with wonderful selection of green beans and red potatoes. If you are in the Mystic area, I urge you to try this restaurant and doubt that you would be disappointed. Everyone at the table really enjoyed the meal and the service was perfect, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S & P Oyster Co also viewed

 

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing