We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant - even for a vegetarian!”

Captain Daniel Packer Inne Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - even for a vegetarian!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was in the Mystic area for business and a few colleagues and myself went to this restaurant. Mystic is known for their seafood and I was a bit hesitatnt since I'm a vegetarian. However, the food was great! There is a section on the menu for vegetarian dishes--I ordered the wild mushroom pesto pasta. It was delicious. The oil and garlic they serve with the bread at the start of the meal was delicious too! The garlic was booked to perfection. All of my colleagues ordered seafood dishes-fruit de mer, lobster ravioli, and scallops and all were very pleased with their choices. They also ate the calamari appetizer that they gobbled up.

The ambience in the restaurant is great too. I think it's in a historical home which was been converted to a restuarant. there are fireplaces throughout the restaurant and the service was great. I was in a party of 5 which there are limited tables that offer seating for 5. We did not have a reservation but they made it work for us. If you're going there regardless of party size, I recommend making a reservation.

I highly recomment this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoriad1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    309
    103
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Historic tavern with great food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Highly recommended by the B&B we stayed in, the House of 1833, which was the best B&B that we stayed in on our vacation. The historic Tavern was built over 200 years ago and was a tavern and inn from the beginning. Great food, great selection, great service. One of the best meals we had on our trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Typical New England atmosphere and food menu”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Okay atmosphere with good food. Lack of parking might having you walk a few hundred yards to reach the restaurant. Great view of local habor area. All in all, worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grollend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Had dinner with some friends in the pub section on the recommendation of a local. Food was great! We really enjoyed the New England pub atmosphere. We will surely be back next time we are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for that Special Dinner”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I won't mince words here -- it is pricey. But, for that price, you get excellent food and food presentation, pleasant and tolerant staff (we had a 1-year-old and a 4-year-old with us). Ambience was excellent. If your visit calls for at least one special dinner, this is the place to go (but leave the little kids at the hotel so you can appreciate this dining experience).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Daniel Packer Inne Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 

Been to Captain Daniel Packer Inne Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing