We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fair prices, great variety”

Mystic Diner and Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: $1 - $21
Cuisines: American, Diner, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast served all day, family friendly, great for large groups, homestyle desserts and great ice cream too.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
301 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices, great variety”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From the lobster roll to the all day breakfasts, this is a great place for a basic meal. The nice portion sizes and quick friendly service makes this a staple for us. Great variety.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwinCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    340
    164
    85
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New name, same place”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good food, a little overpriced, but still a good choice. Ordered the grilled cheese, it was pretty good. French fries were decent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dibonast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higuey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Delicious food. They should stay open later especially during the peak season as the menu becomes limited at 10 pm which is an hour before closing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nvr2Far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yawn...I'd Skip It”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think that what is so unforgettable about Mystic Diner is how forgettable the experiences are. And when I do remember something from here, it's usually bad. Southern Rhode Island and Connecticut are not known for their diners (like in New Jersey--where I am from), and this is really the only diner I can think of within 20 miles. And this place clearly doesn't count as a "real" diner, which should be open 24 hours, look like aluminum foil on the outside, have pastry displays by the cash register and contain surly but loveable waitresses named Marge who ask you who "did that haircut?" Having said this, Mystic Diner is just an average restaurant with average food, higher than average prices, and worse than average service. Eggs are usually cooked correctly, but are lackluster and bland. The specials are nothing special, and the waitstaff loves to be nowhere to be found until check time when they light up like a Christmas tree. This morning, our waitress greets us after about 20 minutes, right before we walk out the door and go to Friendly's, with a big sigh and a "Did she not get to you? She's making a bunch of milkshakes." She was clearly not happy with the situation in which she had to wait on customers that were not hers--so we end up paying the price and becoming the annoyance. Then the other waitress comes over and laughs and says, "oh, did she take your order already? I was making a lot of milkshakes!" Ugh. Having been a waiter in about 15 restaurants over 11 years, I would just like one time to be able to treat my customers the way I often get treated when I go out to eat. Which is often. In any event, Mystic Diner didn't care when it was Equinox, it didn't care a year ago, and Mystic Diner doesn't care now. Why should I care about it?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great diner”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on way back from vacation and enjoyed a nice dinner. I had the turkey dinner and it was a good size portion and very tasty. Service was very good and will certainly stop here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keetlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mystic Diner and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing