We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Entrant in Mystic”
Review of La Luna - CLOSED

La Luna
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Entrant in Mystic”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

For years we have been using Mystic as a stopping point for our journeys to Cape Cod. Other than the downtown restaurants where parking is a challenge we have visited a few restaurants near I95 and our hotel. Most of them were here today gone tomorrow. This year's tenant on the first floor of a chain hotel (but not part of the hotel as far as I can tell. The GM at our hotel told us he hadn't heard much about it other than it was expensive. Expensive it wasn't when compared to the downtown restaurants - the comment was probably offered by a family with small children and this wouldn't be my choice in that case.

The food (Italian) was well prepared and served attractively. It was not a "red sauce" place but had an interesting choice of entrees including fish and some pastas. Our meals were both very good and more than sufficient.

Service was provided by a pleasant young man who was very well versed in the preparation of the food. The only flaw was that my wife's soup was delivered well before my appetizer

I only hope that this venture survives and does well - the location away from downtown and a lot of the hotels are tough hurdles to overcome. Some marketing to local hotel GMs might move traffic their way

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited early in the evening and found the menu to be varied and extensive, several specials were offered, and all entrees were served with a nice house salad. Service was a bit slow but we weren't in a hurry so that was ok.
It was good to see the dining room fairly busy in an area of Mystic where recent restaurants have had difficulty.

Helpful?
Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came in on Christmas Eve and it was the only restaurant in town open aside from the Chinese Takeout. We ordered Spaghetti with meat sauce to go and over all it was actually pretty tasty!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly,RI
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We normally don't eat at Hotel restaurants but I received a BOGO coupon so we figured we'd give it a shot.The atmosphere was nice and the wait staff seemed very attentive.The menu had many good choices but unfortunately they were out of Fettucini and Linguini which kind of seemed odd being an Italian eatery and all but I went with the Angel Hair Pasta and my wife had the Penne.Salad was included with our meal and it was an O.K. side salad with Balsamic dressing.Our meals came and were very tasty and there was plenty for us to eat.It seemed like the average price was 17-22$ for entrees which isn't really bad for around here.Wine was about 8$ per glass.The desserts looked incredible but we were to full to order any.We will be returning to this restaurant,we were very satisfied!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PetefromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingly, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“should have stuck to my gut”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

waited forever. had to chase wait staff in order to get drinks. had to ask for rolls. food was cold. ordered the tialpia. should have had crab stuffing, not stuffed. only good thing was the spinach. extremely disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kls538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing