We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed and Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #3 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYTraveler0514
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointed and Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was a getaway trip for my husband and I. The bedroom comforters smelled old and dirty as if they haven't been washed since 1833. The bath towels and robes if you want to call them robes were falling apart and old. Time to replace them. Nothing like the pictures. It's too much clutter.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank NYTraveler0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
17
135
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We visited this B&B in February because we found it online and wanted to check it out as a possible place to stay in the future. We were greeted by Evan, one of the innkeepers, who gave us a short tour of the house and one of the guest rooms. We liked it so much that we booked a room for the night before my birthday at the end of June.

When we arrived for our stay, Evan greeted us again and gave us a quick tour and explained the breakfast hours to us. He then showed us to our room, the Cupola. I specifically chose this room for it’s coziness and charm, not to mention the colors (purple and mauve, two of my favorites) To my surprise, there were a couple of banners hanging in the room, one for my birthday and the other one, which said Congratulations because we became engaged the next morning on my birthday. There was also a delectable chocolate cake for both occasions and fresh roses in the room, not to mention a decanter of sherry. What a way to cap off the evening after a delicious dinner in town.

Breakfast the next morning was out of this world! We were treated to fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, and a fresh fruit salad. Then came the sweets, a wonderful coffee cake and sticky buns. The main dish was quiche. Knowing how fussy my fiancée is when it comes to food, I was a bit worried that he wouldn’t like the choices, but to my surprise, he ordered the spinach quiche. I, myself, was not too fond of the choices, but opted for the mushroom quiche, which was out of this world delicious. Robert is a fantastic cook!

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked the same room for our wedding in October and we also booked the Peach room for our honor attendants. We are even contemplating having the ceremony right there on the grounds, after taking a quiet stroll through the gardens after breakfast.

My only regret was that we only stayed there the one night, but we are both looking forward to returning in October.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogersGirl139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

My boyfriend and I were looking for a local weekend getaway and saw all the great reviews on TripAdvisor about this bed and breakfast. They weren't lying! We had a fabulous stay here. We were in the Veranda room which was beautifuly decorated and clean (a must in my book!). Robert, one of the hosts, is a fantastic chef and made us a delicious breakfast each morning. Evan, the other host was very accomodating and never hesitated to answer any of our questions. They recommended wonderful places to eat and we were not disappointed. We ate at the S&P Oyster House, Anthony's Bistro, Captain Packer's Inn and of course, Mystic Pizza. We had an amazing time and look forward to visiting the House of 1833 again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtrau14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We (my wife and I) just returned from a 3-day stay at House of 1833 and without reservation would recommend this retreat to anyone considering it. Robert, Evan and Kathy are warm friendly, kind, accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are small and cozy filled with antiques and charm. This Inn exemplifies what a bed and breakfast experience should be; personal service complete with sherry in each room, fresh made cookies put out each night and a homemade breakfast not meant for trendy dieters (although I'm sure they would cook to order), but rather a bold, tasty, satisfying New England breakfast to quench the largest and demanding of appetites. The house itself is filled with antiques worthy of a late night stroll through or to read in the parlor, sit by the pool or explore the grounds. Plenty to do in just a short drive too. Casinos, historic New England towns, antique shops, aquarium, tall ships, restaurants, everything to unwind at a leisurely New England pace. Not a place to pass by!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I celebrated a babymoon this past weekend to get away before our second child was born. After much research we decided to stay at the House of 1833 for what will most likely be our last weekend away (alone) in a while. The House of 1833, Evan, and Robert blew away our expectations. The place is the ultimate in relaxation and the hosts could not possibly be more accomodating. We felt welcome from the moment we got there and Evan and Robert made sure that we were well taken care of. The location is only a few minutes from all of the shops and attractions which is the way we wanted it so that it would be nice and quiet. I cannot recommend this B&B enough. Do yourself a favor and stay here. The food is great as well. Request the chocolate chip pancakes....amazing!

Eric & Heather Goodman

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoody25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

For our first trip to the Mystic area, we selected the House of 1833 as a base. We were pleased with the choice, since it was less than a 10 minute drive to the Seaport Museum.
Evan is a great host, very accomodating and friendly but allowing you your own space. He served creative and very tasty breakfasts.
As anyone who has experience with the upkeep of an old house can attest, it requires endless work. It appears that Evan is up to the task. He has updated the Veranda room with a new jacuzzi in-room tub, flat screen TV, and fresh bath fixtures. The small, narrow private porch overlooking the garden and pool was a great place to relax. The shifting of the house through the decades had made the porch floor slant quite a bit, but it all appeared safe and sturdy.
Be forewarned, however, that the house could serve well as an antique emporium. There are layers and layers of antiques everywhere... all quite interesting but making the decor very, very busy.

  • Liked — Antiques
  • Disliked — Too many antiques
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

We Stayed in the inn for 2 nights for a weekend away in Mystic. First night we stayed in the Oak room and loved the Juzzuci in the bedroom by the fireplace. The only problem was the private bathroom was accross the hall, which we did not like. So the second night we up-graded to the Cupola suite. What a great room and very romantic.
There was sherry in the rooms and in the family room which was a nice treat on a brisk spring night. Many many clocks (which we did try to count) and paintings,.. every room was a museum.
The Inn owners, Evan and Robert, were great people. They left us to do our own thing but were more than willing to offer suggestions apon request.
The only disapointing comment was that the main enterance to the house was closed due to renovations of the front of the building. This made no difference after the initial impression as we parked at the back and entrance to the rooms was at the back of the house. I think that the plan was to have all the cosmetic work completed by Memorial weekend. And we cant fault any B&B for doing home improvements.
Overall our experience of the Inn was great, and I would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Liked — The Inn itself, architecture and antiques in rooms were great. Great people.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
2.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Property: House of 1833
Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing