We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One not to be missed.”
Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #4 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One not to be missed.”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We (my wife and I) just returned from a 3-day stay at House of 1833 and without reservation would recommend this retreat to anyone considering it. Robert, Evan and Kathy are warm friendly, kind, accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are small and cozy filled with antiques and charm. This Inn exemplifies what a bed and breakfast experience should be; personal service complete with sherry in each room, fresh made cookies put out each night and a homemade breakfast not meant for trendy dieters (although I'm sure they would cook to order), but rather a bold, tasty, satisfying New England breakfast to quench the largest and demanding of appetites. The house itself is filled with antiques worthy of a late night stroll through or to read in the parlor, sit by the pool or explore the grounds. Plenty to do in just a short drive too. Casinos, historic New England towns, antique shops, aquarium, tall ships, restaurants, everything to unwind at a leisurely New England pace. Not a place to pass by!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    23
    3
    0
    6
See reviews for
18
136
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I celebrated a babymoon this past weekend to get away before our second child was born. After much research we decided to stay at the House of 1833 for what will most likely be our last weekend away (alone) in a while. The House of 1833, Evan, and Robert blew away our expectations. The place is the ultimate in relaxation and the hosts could not possibly be more accomodating. We felt welcome from the moment we got there and Evan and Robert made sure that we were well taken care of. The location is only a few minutes from all of the shops and attractions which is the way we wanted it so that it would be nice and quiet. I cannot recommend this B&B enough. Do yourself a favor and stay here. The food is great as well. Request the chocolate chip pancakes....amazing!

Eric & Heather Goodman

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoody25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

For our first trip to the Mystic area, we selected the House of 1833 as a base. We were pleased with the choice, since it was less than a 10 minute drive to the Seaport Museum.
Evan is a great host, very accomodating and friendly but allowing you your own space. He served creative and very tasty breakfasts.
As anyone who has experience with the upkeep of an old house can attest, it requires endless work. It appears that Evan is up to the task. He has updated the Veranda room with a new jacuzzi in-room tub, flat screen TV, and fresh bath fixtures. The small, narrow private porch overlooking the garden and pool was a great place to relax. The shifting of the house through the decades had made the porch floor slant quite a bit, but it all appeared safe and sturdy.
Be forewarned, however, that the house could serve well as an antique emporium. There are layers and layers of antiques everywhere... all quite interesting but making the decor very, very busy.

  • Liked — Antiques
  • Disliked — Too many antiques
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmartintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We Stayed in the inn for 2 nights for a weekend away in Mystic. First night we stayed in the Oak room and loved the Juzzuci in the bedroom by the fireplace. The only problem was the private bathroom was accross the hall, which we did not like. So the second night we up-graded to the Cupola suite. What a great room and very romantic.
There was sherry in the rooms and in the family room which was a nice treat on a brisk spring night. Many many clocks (which we did try to count) and paintings,.. every room was a museum.
The Inn owners, Evan and Robert, were great people. They left us to do our own thing but were more than willing to offer suggestions apon request.
The only disapointing comment was that the main enterance to the house was closed due to renovations of the front of the building. This made no difference after the initial impression as we parked at the back and entrance to the rooms was at the back of the house. I think that the plan was to have all the cosmetic work completed by Memorial weekend. And we cant fault any B&B for doing home improvements.
Overall our experience of the Inn was great, and I would recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Liked — The Inn itself, architecture and antiques in rooms were great. Great people.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RosNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTION:

I need to start by telling you that this is going to be a true & accurate account of our experience at the House of 1833. A review from a person who was sent there to actually review the inn.

I started the morning by calling the inn and asking if I could make a reservation for that very day. I spoke with Evan...one of the nicest people I have ever met. I explained I had two children with me and needed to stay somewhere for the night. He was funny, charming and took great care of me over the phone. We booked the "Oak" & "Ivy" rooms. Next door to each other.

We arrived at the Inn. Because winter has just ended, the yard was a little winter worn (as a regular reviewer had stated) but I want to explain why that just did not matter. Being from New England, we know all about the "winter thaw"...that in between time before things green up. They are also working on the INN...having it only for about 3 years (going on 4). So, yes...the yard could use a little work after the blast of winter....but you will still be delighted.

Our family pulled up and were greeted warmly by the housekeeper. So friendly and sweet...just want to adopt her! She showed us around, gave us information on the town & inn. We settled in and then took off to see the town. Returning about 9 p.m.

Our wonderful hosts Evan & Robert were there to greet us. Having made cookies for our family. Plus balloons for the kids....which they loved. We had a wonderful chat with the friendliest hosts ever.

Our room was a beautiful room, filled with antiques, wood burning fireplace & jacuzzi. Port wine, chocolates in front of the fire. It was cozy and a beautiful place to be. The kids loved their own room and bathroom, again filled with antiques. Everything was perfect. I can not explain enough how roomy & beautiful the rooms really are.

I started the next morning with delicious coffee next to a roaring fire. I soaked in the slip tub amongst the antiques, in my own private bathroom. Plush towels, special soaps & bath soak....ahhh, what a pleasure.

Breakfast was terrific. Our wonderful host Robert made us New England Bread Pudding, Breakfast Pizza, Fresh Fruit, Juice, Coffee and other goodies. It was terrific. We learned about our hosts, the inn and even a wodnerful scenic pway to get home. We enjoyed our time there and will never forget it.

The parlors are gorgeous, with loads of antiques! The dining room is well equiped to house many hungry travelers. The hosts are a dream come true. It was hard saying goodbye to them and their lovely dogs.

We will be back this summer to enjoy the outdoor pool and extensive wooded yard.. There are lots of things to do in Mystic. Go here before any other place! You will not be disappointed. You will be delighted and charmed! We are and YES, we are going back!!!!

  • Liked — The Hosts & The Staff.....can't forget the dogs too!!!!
  • Disliked — Not a thing! Everything was PERFECT!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyerodri100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

this place was just great. The rooms are all different which adds to the charm of the place in my opinion. We kept sneaking around to see all the other types of rooms. Our room had an inroom jacuzzi and fireplace. The two owners were great and exactly why you go to a B&B in the first place. The breakfast, although not particularly what I like to eat (eggs/ bacon) was still fantastic. One of the owners cooks and he was just great (And I am a very picky eater!) The added bonus was that they offer a "romantic package" for couples for a small added price they bring flowers, drinks and light the place with candles ...really exceptional for your significant other. It was especially appreciated here b/c I brought my wife back a little early and they had it all ready to go when i brought her back from dinner. They are well aware of all the best places to eat and things to do in the area and well incredibly helpful. I can't say enough good things about the place it is exactly why I love B&B's and not hotels.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — A little far from the business district
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hansolo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megs7622
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We just returned from a weekend getaway at the House of 1833. It was amazing. I had never been to a B&B before due to my slight obsession with cleanliness-- however this place was immaculate. The rooms were so cozy and beautifully decorated. Every corner was spotless and the decorations were quirky and entertaining. The breakfast was delicious and the owners, as well as other guests, made this trip feel like we were visiting family. I would highly reccommend going here during the winter months as well. You avoid all crowds at area attractions, but still get to spend the weekend in a cute ocean-side town with so much to do. It was wonderful and we are definitely going back. We intend to try every room atleast once!

  • Liked — The Romantic Rooms
  • Disliked — a little expensive for us
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megs7622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
2.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
707 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Property: House of 1833
Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing