We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Night at the Museum" without the monsters”
Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #3 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Night at the Museum" without the monsters”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a B&B with a lot of character and charm. It has interesting history inside and out. My stay in the Ivy room was very comfortable. The hosts were so friendly and knew so much about the area. Breakfast was super and they had no problem taking care of my food allergies. My next trip i will have to make sure my schedule allows for sitting and sipping sherry by the fireplace in my room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
17
135
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a grand old house, lovingly cared for and shared by proprietors Evan & Robert. After a grand tour, we were escorted to the Veranda room, which was everything promised. The gourmet breakfast was wonderful; an experience in its own right. If you love history, generosity and opulence, this is your place in Mystic.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our entire House of 1833 experience was 5-star. I can't say enough good things, but I'll try...

We'd been to Mystic before, but had never stayed at House of 1833. After reading all of the wonderful reviews, I decided we'd give it a try for our anniversary weekend getaway.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Evan - and 3 excited pups! They were not at all threatening at all, but noisy for just a minute or so. Evan gave us a tour of the house, and introduced us to Robert. We felt SO welcomed and "at home" right away. He explained the history of the house, pointed out some pieces, and made sure to tell us to make ourselves comfortable -- it only *looks* like a museum.

I won't bother to try to describe the house... words can't really do it justice (which is why I took so many pictures). I walked around with my eyes wide and mouth agape -- so much to look at! It was beautiful and fascinating!

Soon, we were led to our room (The Oak Room), and given our keys. The Oak Room has a queen bed, double jacuzzi, sofa, gorgeous, giant armoire, settee, and fireplace, as well as a flat-screen TV with cable & DVD player, and a radio/CD player. The fireplace and jacuzzi were wonderful, and we used both each night. Very romantic!

Our incredibly gracious hosts had hung a 'Happy Anniversary' sign on our fireplace, and put a cute scrumptious little cake with a candle in it, as well as wonderfully-scented fresh flowers, on the side table next to the sofa. Little touches like that make guests feel GREAT, and Evan and Robert clearly know that making your guests feel great makes your guests return!

The private bathroom is directly across the hall, and uses the same key that opens the room. I was mildly concerned that this might be annoying, but it really wasn't at all. It was probably 5 feet away from the room. It has a shower stall, and separate bathtub (which was tremendous!). Had we been staying longer, I definitely would've had a nice soak in that huge tub!

All linens, as well as some toiletries were provided (soap, lotion, shower gel, shampoo/conditioner, etc). Wine glasses, champagne glasses and ice buckets, corkscrews - pretty much anything you would want or need was available.

We spent some time in the parlor - playing Scrabble and Chess, and drinking some sherry, during the early evening each day. It was so relaxing. The chess table is probably the most beautiful I'd ever seen. It made my defeat much more palatable ;) Sherry and delicious homemade cookies were always available in the parlor (and there was sherry in our room, as well).

Breakfast. Ohhhhh my. Evan let us know that breakfast was between 8:30 and 9:30, but that we could get to the dining room at 9:30 and it would be fine. As someone who generally sleeps in, I appreciated that very much! We managed to get to breakfast earlier than 9:30, in our pajamas. It was just that comfortable of a place. I didn't feel like we needed to get ready for the day before joining the other guests in the dining room.

On Saturday morning, we had super-tasty croissant French toast with fresh whipped cream and strawberries. There was also a choice of meats, sour cream cinnamon breakfast cake, fruit, and coffee. Sunday morning was pancakes! Four varieties were offered, and choice of meats again, fruit, and what I believe was banana bread pudding (whatever it was, it was yummy). I can say without question that these were some of the best pancakes I've every tasted. Absolutely delicious! Evan offered another round of pancakes, but we were stuffed!

Any time we had questions, Evan and Robert were there to offer their opinions or give us directions -- whatever we needed. Their hospitality was above and beyond anything I'd experienced or expected. We also adored their dog Trixie -- such an affectionate girl (but she's very camera-shy, so if you want a pic, you'll have to be sneaky haha)!

If you want sleek lines or modern design, stay in a chain hotel. You won't get that here. But you will get a feast for the eyes, mind, and soul in one of the most welcoming environments we've ever visited.

We loved it! We are already looking forward to returning during warm weather, to see the gardens in bloom and use the pool. Can't wait to see our fantastic hosts again, and try one of the other rooms!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glms27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed there for the first time in February. One of, if not the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Great personalized gourmet breakfast. Wonderful hosts. Historical home and area. Plenty of good restaurants to chose from. Hope we can come back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Every year around this time my wife and I try to get away for a weekend. Our wedding anniversary is on 2/25 and this year we decided to travel a little further than usual and head to Mystic, CT. It's a great place to visit and the House if 1833 was perfect. I had read the reviews here and if you are a "neat freak" or don't like clutter than this is probably not the place for you. But if you love history and antiques this is the place. We had the largest room - the Veranda room! The king size bed was fantastic as was the oversized jacuzzi. Evan and Robert were great and took care of we very detail. Know it was our anniversary they had a nice little cake and sparkling apple juice (we are not drinkers) waiting for us upon arrival. We purchased the romance package that included a delicious dinner at the Capt. Daniel Pack Inn and while we were at dinner Evan strung up the lights, lit a fire and had flowers and strawberries with chocolate along with sparkling grape juice set out for us in our room upon our return. We had 3 fantastic breakfasts as well. We are already trying to figure out when we can get back. It was a great place to relax but Mystic was a little chilly so a spring or summer visit would probably allow us to do more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Evan and Robert manage a first-rate B&B, with a passion for hospitality that is a credit to the industry. House of 1833 may not be to everyone's taste, but we loved it. The mansion itself is large and every wall is filled with artwork and every surface covered with treasure. It is like stepping into an antique store, but much better as almost every piece has a story attached to it, passionately told either by Evan (front of house) or Robert (chef extraordinaire). The room we stayed in was huge and the bed very comfortable, the real fire a treat and the somewhat unusual placement of a jacuzzi in our bedroom irresistible. The location is perfect with plenty of acreage and a full-sized swimming pool and tennis court that must make House of 1833 an even more enjoyable place to stay in the summer. Lastly, aside from the charming, witty and talented hosts, it would be remiss not to mention the breakfasts, which were extraordinary. I will never look at a bread pudding or apple crisp the same way again...or the cajun sausage and delicious pancakes made from local produce (much of it grown in the grounds). You'd have to be very straight-laced or lacking in an appreciation for the better things in life if you didn't enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Veranda; highly recommended. I'm sure the others are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westfield_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for a birthday on a whim. We are usually strictly high-rise hotel people, but we were curious about the B&B mystique. So we checked out B&B's that had jacuzzi options and found House of 1833. Booking the trip was super easy through the phone number, and we got all the information we needed to decide that this place would be perfect. We went on a snowy day, and our room was ready when we arrived. Evan and Robert were extremely friendly and helpful. They booked our dinner for that night - we got an amazing view because of them and it was some of the most amazing seafood I've ever had.

We had told them we were celebrating a birthday, and there was homemade cheesecake and a banner in our room. Sherry was waiting for us, and there was always fresh log for the fireplace (!) in the room, one of our very favorite parts. There were also always cookies downstairs, as well as sherry. We had brought our own alcohol, so we used their glasses. We even, horribly, broke one of their sherry glasses, and Evan was very kind and didn't charge us a thing.

Room was cleaned by their staff every day. Breakfast - OMG - amazing!!! Coffee was unbelievable, we got a choice of a menu every day, and always left full and satisfied. Honestly, after day 1, we really didn't want to leave, and ended up getting take-out for dinner and just spending every moment we could in our room.

Overall, this was an amazing experience and I'd go back to this place tonight if I could!!! Yes, it's not a high-rise, typical room, and it's decorated with antiques as opposed to cheesy photos, but it's so worth it if you just want to get away, get some gambling in, and completely feel comfortable and relaxed.

Room Tip: Our room had a fireplace, jacuzzi, and special breakfast nook - we loved it! Definitely request a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychedollic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
2.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Property: House of 1833
Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing