We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great display of paintings and photographs”

Mystic Museum of Art
Ranked #11 of 33 things to do in Mystic
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bordering the Mystic River, this complex features changing art exhibitions, special events and classes. A nonprofit organization created by an artist colony in 1913, the association boasts a membership of over 1,200 artists. Travelers can partake of one-day workshops or enjoy a day on the town while their children are educated and entertained in art classes.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great display of paintings and photographs”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We visited this place. They have paintings, photographs etc displayed. Some of them are for sale. Many of these display are by the local artist displaying local scenes. We enjoyed it very much

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nangavaram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
262 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“wonderful and varied selection of art”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was a treat to visit this gallery filled with various art forms. Quiet and no pressure. Just a chance to view the local artists. great and easy parking too!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Italianshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
402 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nicely displayed exhibits”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were actually there for a wedding reception but we really enjoyed the displays of art. It is a smaller venue but the art and photography was high caliber. I am not sure if there is an admission fee but it is a nice center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

It's a beautiful place to come in and appreciate some amazing art work, no pushy gallery girls trying to get you to buy art or acting snooty because they think only they get the art. And even if you are clearly just a tourist in shirts and a t-shirt you aren't looked down on by the well dressed attendant who is always happy to chat about art or recommend a nice place for lunch!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrsevilbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Mystic”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were wandering through Mystic when we came upon the Arts Center and decided to see what was inside. We didn't know what to expect, as there was a kids' art class being held on the lawn, but inside was a small art museum that had a donation box instead of an entrance fee. We wandered about for quite a while studying the impressive, if not huge, array of art. This is a 100-year old artist's colony, and one can really get the feel of how the town grew up around it. An excellent visit and a nice break from our hectic day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RadarOreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mystic Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Mystic Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing