We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a chain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taber Inne and Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Taber Inne was not the stereo typical chain hotel. Clean quite and with the personal touch. Different types of fooms available from standard to luxury, we chose the luxury. We are going back Labor Day.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cnic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

We just spent two nights at the inne. The property is located on a very busy street, lots of traffic noise, and not within the historic or downtown area of Mystic; certainly not walking distance.

The accomodations were quite expensive for the quality of the bedding, and cleanliness of the rooms. The lower level deck off our room was loaded with wasps that crawled in holes below the railing, and bees were all over surrounding bushes. We were not comfortable using our deck for this reason. The staff was friendly and helpful, but again, this doesn't make up for the $225+ per night. We skipped breakfast in the morning, muffins looked like they were from Sam's club and fruit platter was empty, so plan on dining out for breakfast.

The one area that is was very nice was the indoor pool area, complete with locker rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tltallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Travel all the time, was very impressed with the Taber Inn. My kids loved the place. They have a gorgous pool and the place is clean. Staff was very freindly. Great location. We will be staying at the Taber inn again and again.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank belly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

If you think you are staying in a Deluxe ($235 a night) suite... hold your nose because the place smells like a dirty wet mop.
We stayed at the Stonington Inn...and this place thinks it is in the same league...I think NOT!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank okayWdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

When I called to reserve the room, I let the older woman taking the reservation know that it would be me, my husband and our 2 month old infant. She had no objections and said we would really enjoy our room. When we got there and this same woman saw that we had an infant, she said that they usually wouldn't put children in the room that we were in but she "Guessed it would be okay since he was so small" We did not find this welcoming and felt that it was borderline rude. She should have told me no infants in the room when I called and I could have booked a room somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rowy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This was our first visit to the Taber Inn and were well received by an elderly lady called Maggie (what a lovely lady!) and I believe she is the mother of the owner. She showed us to our exceptionally clean room with large bed and clean and tidy bathroom. The bed linen and towels were of excellent quality. The breakfast included a wide variety of choices (cereal, muffins, toast, coffee, tea and fruit juices). The staff we came in contact with at the Inn were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating.
If you want a swim try the pool and if you want to relax just chill out on the decking. Although this Inn is just of the main road into Mystic (a short distance away) it was very quiet. We were glad we found it. Thanks Maggie!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDRENL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

My husband and I wanted to get away and I found this hotel/Inn on Trip Advisor. The property is really pretty and the room we stayed in at the Westford House was a pretty decent size. The only thing I have to say is that our room did not have the coach that was promised and the room across from us did and it was much bigger than ours. Our bed was a bit stiff and the towels were not the softest but still useable. The whirpool bath really does fit 2 people and the bathroom is HUGE! Our AC was not working corretly so if you come here in the summer make sure that it works! The breakfast consists of bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee & orange juice so if you are looking for something else skip the free breakfast.The staff is great about telling you what you should do in the area and the Inn is in a great location close to all attractions. Overall it was a nice, peaceful and romantic weekend and I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Veromedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,180 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.3 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taber Inne and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taber Inne and Suites

Address: 66 Williams Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-2934
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: $103 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taber Inne and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the only inns in Mystic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Taber Inne and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taber Inne Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing