We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and RELAX!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taber Inne and Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and RELAX!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Taber Inne and our only wish was that we could have stayed longer! The grounds were well kept, bright and colorful with flowers everywhere. The accommodations were excellent as always; the floors and bedrooms, bathrooms and toilets were in perfect order. We stayed in one of the suites and it was beneficial for us to have the extra room of a full kitchen, living area and two bedrooms, three bathrooms!

We found the location to be perfect and we walked all the way to Mystic Seaport, probably too far for visitors with children, but we had a great pizza at Angela's on the way back to the hotel. Mystic is such an awesome place and this Inne has the best of everything! The proprietors are on-site and this is extremely beneficial. Upon check-in we were personally walked to our room with a quick tour of the grounds along the way. Comfortable adirondacks and chairs and tables were on the lawn and deck areas, and it makes it easy to lean back and just relax here! Everywhere we looked was neat and clean. The breakfast room was wonderful, and every guest was personally greeted by Margaret and other family members who run the establishment. The pool was perfect, too! The pool area is not only an indoor facility, which makes it very convenient for families for entertainment for the kiddos during inclement weather, but the Inne is also not so large that the pool area is crowded. We had the pool to ourselves for a good while. AND the changing area was just wonderful----clean and spacious with everything you needed!

For us, the best part of the visit was seeing that Margaret is still running the place. Back in 1979 we "visited" this Inne because this same Margaret saw fit to help us out of a housing pickle; my husband was in the Navy and the base was too crowded at the time, and it would be several weeks before we could get housing. We shared our predicament with Margaret and she kindly gave us a great bargain on the unit behind what used to be her small souvenir shop. The moral of the story: not only is Taber Inne a great place to stay today, but it is run by a family that cares about the people in the area and that gave a Navy man and his wife a place to live when all the rest of Connecticut seemed to be telling us to keep sleeping at the state park! Even well after 33 years have passed, we will never forget the favor done for us by the Taber Inne and it is the ONLY location we will stay at while vacationing in the Mystic area!

Room Tip: if you can afford the space, go big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Norma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    76
    26
    7
    6
See reviews for
88
101
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a great Memorial Day weekend thanks to the Taber Inn. Highly recommend for couples or family. Every local we met in Mystic had nothing but great things to say about the Taber which says a lot about the place. Friendly, clean & GREAT pool

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked a weekend here after reading the excellent reviews and was very pleased. Close to both casinos and other attractions. The Inn was very clean and comfortable and the staff was great. We are hoping to travel back there in the fall and will definitely stay there again !!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed one night and requested the toilet be fixed while we were out. It wasn't fixed upon our return and when we reported it again, the service desk people told us our child had probably stuck a toy down the toilet. They also told us not to use more than an arms length of paper. They never once apologized for any inconvenience, even though we had to use a nearby Dunkin donuts toilet in tulhe morning! Instead They said we shoUld haVe used the bathrooms by the pool! Total rip off go stay at a chain with a five star flusher.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizfair2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here during school vacation week and had a great time. The staff is just wonderful and makes you feel like family. We stayed in a townhouse with kitchen, dining room/living room, deck, and two bedrooms upstairs. The decor is dated, but we could look past that because eveything was so clean! The beds were very comfortable. The pool was large and well maintained. My kids loved it. Breakfast was basic continental and plentiful. The inn is very close to downtown Mystic. My mother wanted to drive because her foot bothers her, but my 9 and 6 year old both agreed that we could have easily walked the distance there and back. There is a nice upscale market right across the street as well as a casual tavern restaurant that was small, but very good. The inn is convienent to everything in Mystic. I would recommend driving the short distance to Stonington too. The downtown is cute with great shops and restaurants.
I would definitely stay again. Thanks to Maggie and Margaret!

Room Tip: Check out the website and look online at the room pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonGrl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Our stay at the Taber Inne was the best! Maggie & staff made our visit so enjoyable. We had a very clean, comfortable and quiet room. Loved chatting with Maggie...she takes a personal interest in her guests..you are not just a number. The grounds are well maintained, the continental breakfast provides you with many delicious choices. Michelle was so much help with planning our day... She offered information regarding Mystic & surrounding areas. The shops are not far from the hotel..but probably need to drive into downtown Mystic. Be sure to visit Enders Island...worth the trip! Already thinking about our next visit!

Room Tip: Our corner room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanaklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Maggie and her staff are not only the warmest innkeepers you will ever find, but their dedication to detail is remarkable. She really beieves in high quality and you feel like pampered guests. I first stayed at her inn around the early 1980s, and felt welcomed and heard of her dreams for expansion. We were recently there in March of 2012 and could see that she has carried them out in flying colors and with thoughtful care. The large indoor pool with ample changing rooms and showers was fantastic. Across the street is gourmet deli worthy of Manhattan. Carolyn and John

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.6 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taber Inne and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taber Inne and Suites

Property: Taber Inne and Suites
Address: 66 Williams Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-2934
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Taber Inne and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the only inns in Mystic ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Taber Inne and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taber Inne Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing