We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imaginative cuisine, especially with friendly and helpful service”
Review of Oyster Club

Oyster Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Oyster Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Oyster Club is a casual fine dining restaurant and raw bar specializing in the richness of the New England coast and countryside. The menu, which is written daily, showcases food that travels the shortest distance from 'farm & sea to table,' with seasonality and location determining the day's delicacies. Benefiting from the region's many local farmers and fisherman, Oyster Club features bounty from the sea, pasture raised beef, local produce and artisanal cheeses. We believe Oyster Club is an extension of your home and that all will feel welcome at our table - please join us!
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Imaginative cuisine, especially with friendly and helpful service”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We'd tried a couple of other restaurants in Mystic during our 3 day stopover and were seriously disappointed. We'd passed on Oyster Club on the two previous evenings as it was heaving with people (good for them), but on the Sunday evening certainly less busy and the more relaxed as a result.
Can't fault the imaginative menu and quality of ingredients as well as the preparation, but especially outstanding was the service. (I wish I'd noted her name for a mention here, but she was charm and helpfulness personified).
Very relaxed ambiance too.
I'd certainly go back if ever in Mystic giving other restaurants a very wide berth.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    152
    58
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great farm to table restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We dined here based on a lady at the Inn were we stayed and Tripadvisor reviews. The menu changes a lot so be prepared.

Pros: great fresh and well prepared ingredients, great wine list as well as beer and ale. They also have a full bar. Portions are just right although we did share a salad and it was delicious. Short walk from center of town, less than 5 minutes. Very casual atmosphere.

Cons: looked like parking might be an issue.

Would return if in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were staying at the Mystic Marriott and the front desk told us to go here for my husbands birthday. Great great recommendation! It's a small place so reservations are recommended. The chef changes the menu daily but keeps the muscle app and the steak dinner always on the menu. There was 5 of us so we chose to each order a different app and main course. The oysters were outstanding! We also had the muscles. If you get them ask for extra bread! They prepare the muscles with coconut milk and lemongrass. The bread is homemade. You will need the bread to soak up all the goodness from the broth. Everything we had was cooked to perfection and tasted as good as it looked. The waitress was fantastic. We had a lot of fun with her. We had a bottle of prosecco, several pints and after dinner drinks. We all had apps dinner and dessert, our final bill with tip was below $90/ person! This is one of the best restaurants we have eaten in!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Dessert Ever!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The almond cake with lemon curd was amazing and according to my 9 year old it was even better than Fudrucker's cheese fries. That's the biggest compliment he can give.

The adult food and atmosphere were also fantastic. The farm to table mission was outstanding and felt authentic without being pretentious. It felt homey, like we were eating in the home of a good friend. The fresh pasta, homemade pate, blue cheese flan, and fresh oysters will bring us back -- maybe for a romantic dinner without the kids next time -- but my 9 year old just whined and said, "aww, but we liked that place a lot. You have to take us too!"

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jk5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go for the happy hour $1 oysters”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We live in Mystic, and enjoy walking down to the Oyster Bar on occasion. The happy hour special of $1 local oysters can't be beat, and they reduce prices on beer and selected drinks as well. The restaurant prides itself on fresh and local ingredients. My only complaint is that if you want something other than oysters to nibble on with your drink, there's nothing available except the very delicious, but very exotic, (and pricey) appetizers. Not always what you want. Oyster Bar, we love you, but would it kill you to make something like crackers and cheese available as well?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oyster Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing