We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Mystic
1 review
“Acceptable”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Nothing special here. The room was fairly clean but the beds weren't that comfortable. The only reason I chose this hotel was for the indoor heated pool. Although the pool room was a balmy 90 degrees the pool water was very chilly. My 6 year old was turning blue shivering in 5 minutes. I think at $100/night this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, I do apologize the pool was chilly, we have installed a new pool heater today so for your next stay it will be warmer.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    524
    300
    90
    65
See reviews for
648
419
52
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited Mystic during our honeymoon. We had booked our reservation in advance. On the second night of our stay the toilet decided to overflow water every where! There was literally a waterfall coming out of this toilet. We had to move our things because the water was coming out of the bathroom and spilling into the carpet of the room. It also spilled onto the carpet of the hallway outside our room. There was only one person working the front desk. It took him 25 minutes to come over and offer us another room. However by that time we were already making reservations some where else. The manager only offered a 15% discount; what a joke for what we went through!!
Furniture needs updating. Luckily the rest of our honeymoon went great.
DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello; thank you for letting us know about your stay with us, I do apologize that it was not a good one. We do wish that you let us know last year when you were here, so we could have made adjustments at that time.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked a eroom here because my boydpfriend & I had concert tickets for Mohegan Sun Arena. The hotel was only 20 min. From both Mohegan & Foxwoods, plus it was directly across the street from Old Mystic Village. It was in a great location, cost less than $100 a night, & most importantly, it was extremely clean. Our room was a bit run down and older, but many of the rooms have been updated from what I heard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello and thanks for staying with us, we do hope you enjoyed the concert and we are very happy you liked your room, we are working hard to show all of our guests a clean, comfortable room and we are working hard on some of those updates.
we look forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night, and one night was enough. The room was furnished with what looked like old cast-offs from a yard sale. It was tired and shabby. Basic, run of the mill motel room. The room's ac/heating unit was so loud, it made it impossible to sleep. It might be time for renovations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allisonpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Day
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that your stay was not perfect, we work hard to show our guests a clean and comfortable room, we did not do this for you. We do appreciate all comments to help us work on updates and renovations. please note we are doing some now.
look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is the 3rd year we have stayed at this hotel for the same weekend each year. The hotel itself is an "older" model but is in EXCELLENT shape and VERY clean. The TV we had in our room wasn't a fancy flat screen but other than that I can't think of anything that I would say "could" easily be updated to my standards. But, even with that one little comment it is not very often that I do not, not wear flip flops every where I go in a hotel room and in this one I didn't even bother packing this year b/c of years past and this year was no different. I think what makes this hotel even better and in my eyes and ok to be an "older model" is the service. The front desk lady remembered us from the prior year and even put us in the same room b/c they took the time to look it up but talked to us and helped us with everything we asked. She was soo nice and welcoming.. And, then at 3am when I couldn't sleep nor find the TV remote I walked down to the front desk and the night lady didn't have a remote but actually found an empty room and located a remote and re-programmed for our room.. She DID NOT have to do that for us and she was so pleasant at 3am even doing it!! Also, last year we forgot a phone charger and we called the front desk and they brought us one. The little things at this hotel = a place that we will visit every year for years to come.. I just hope the staff continues to stay there b/c they are really irreplaceable and the true reason we stay at that hotel as it is a little farther from town then we like to be but totally worth it for the service you get.. Good Job staff you are the SOLE reason we come back every year!!! But for people who only care about the hotel itself it is still worth going to for the reasons I said.!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello and thank you for the wonderful review of the Howard Johnson Mystic. Customer Service is our main business and we are in the business of making our guests comfortable and happy.
It is great when we have the chance to see our guests return each year to be able to accommodate them the way they like. we are looking forward to your next trip to us. please call us direct so we make sure your next stay is a great one.
thanks again from the staff
and management
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
761 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Address: 253 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mystic
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing