We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Hotel that tries very hard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after a concert at Foxwood. It is an old hotel, and the furnishings etc. are dated. The room had a private balcony and a beamed ceiling which was interesting. But they try to do the best with what they have – the rooms are clean and they try to mimic the bedding of higher end hotels by putting a blanket between two sheets for a duvet look. We would stay here again. We had an awesome front desk experience thanks to Jeff, the desk clerk who showed us the “trick” for unlocking our room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Good Day,
thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us,
"the little hotel that tries very hard" is a very kind compliment. we do work hard to show our guests a clean and comfortable room at a valued price. We look forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,227 - 1,233 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Marybeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. For such an inexpensive place I was not expecting it to be so roomy. We are not talking a five star hotel here, but for $75 a night I will stay there again. It's location is amazing and the rooms were clean and comfortable, that's all I ask for this kind of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded queens......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello and thank you our goal is to provide our guest with a clean and comfortable room at a good price. We are glad we were able to do this for you. Please stop back and see us
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I read the reviews on this Motel on various travel sites, and decided to book it. We're really glad we did! The King-sized bed was very nice and comfortable, and the pillows were soft The room temperature was perfect, and the room itself was pleasant and clean. WE didn't use the pool, but went into the pool area. The water was sparkling clean and poolside was also clean and pleasant. The front desk people m(there were three we encountered) were very pleasant and helpful. All in all it was a great stay and it's more than likely we'll stay here again!

Room Tip: Show your room key card to the cashier at the Mystic Diner, located adjacent to HoJo's, and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you we are so glad that you had such a good stay, We do hope to see you again
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much! There was an indoor heated pool that we enjoyed, the staff was accomadating, and the location was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you and hope to see you again
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ksurp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Mystic
583 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $65 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing