We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel at a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel was clean but very dated. My wife and I stayed in a room with a King size bed. Room was very small and the TV (tube not flat screen) was very old. We chose this hotel because of its convenient location and the price. It was 30% cheaper than the Comfort Inn down the street, which is a similar hotel. Although if the prices were the same I would recommend the Comfort Inn. Comfort Inn is newer, free breakfast and feels cleaner.

Pros: Price, location.

Con: The one thing I really disliked is that it felt like we were staying in a motel not a hotel. The heater was located in the room and was extremely noisy and difficult to get to a comfortable temperature. The mattress is extremely soft.

The pool area is indoors and looked to be well taken care of.

This hotel is about a 20-25 minute drive to Mohegan Sun and about a 10-15 minute drive to Foxwoods.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 Queens. The rooms are bigger and the heater in the room seems to distribute t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us, I do apologize you were unhappy with the room you stayed in, we are in the process of updating the rooms as well as the televisons. I will have maintenance attend to the A/C unit. The beds are a new Simmons plush top.I do hope you will give us another chance to show we can do better
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank djmich
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We found it to be clean but in desperate need of updating. The fixtures show extreme wear and need to be replaced. Conveient location, reasonably priced. Employees pleasant. Indoor poll area was well kept and hours opened were reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us, I so apologize about the fixtures and assure you they will be attended too.
I do hope to see you again in the future.
Terry Connors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank DEBRA S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank TSOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
MONCTON
1
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel was a good price for the area, but I do not care for the few Howard Johnson's that I have stayed in (Bangor and Mystic). They are outdated and I find the motel type setup inconvenient for carrying in luggage. We also found a hypodermic needle right in front of the entryway and had to call the front desk. Also the room was not as clean as the Holiday Inn and Best Westerns that we stayed in. I actually pulled down the sheets and saw a type of hair that really grossed me out and we found one in another spot. Overall I personally would pay more and stay somewhere else. The front staff was good though, on check in and calling us a cab.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Good Day I would like to take a moment to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us, I see by some of the comments you had problems during your stay. I am hoping that you could take a moment and contact me personally so that we can discuss the problems. I know that you show you stayed at 2 different Howard Johnsons and I would like to be able to clear up any of the problems you had in Mystic, CT Inn
thank you
Terry Connors
General Manager
860-536-2654

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Mystic
584 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Address: 253 Greenmanville Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $65 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing