We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
KENT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed there as part of our anniversary vacation. The hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and well kept. Couldn't ask for more for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Clyde1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Happy Anniversary. glad to hear you had a good stay
see you again soon
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    494
    282
    83
    62
See reviews for
604
400
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my 2nd stay here and will stay again. Had a king room which I thought it was a small room but very clean. Was able to see a room with queen beds and the room is bigger, so next year I will be booking a queen room. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. God willing looking forward to my visit next year and will be staying at this Howard Johnson..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind words, let us know when you are coming next year and we will make sure you are in the room with 2 queen beds
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband, son (age 12) and I spent a long weekend at Mystic, CT recently and we stayed at the Howard Johnson Mystic hotel. It was our first trip there anI was pleasantly surprised all around! The hotel is right off I-95 so it was very convenient to get to but beyond that, it is directly across the street from Old Mystic Village and the Mystic Aquarium right behind the Village. We spent a whole day at the Old Mystic Village with its wonderful and charming shops, movie theater and restaurants. It also happened to be the Garlic Festival that weekend so there were even more food options than normal.

The next day we once again walked through the Village to the Mystic Aquarium where we had a very enjoyable time. The beluga whales are absolutely beautiful!
The day after that we drove to the Downtown Mystic neighborhood, about a 5 minute drive, you could probably walk it in about 20 minutes but we suspected we would be too tired for the return walk home. Nothing much there besides a lot of nice shops, stores, Mystic Pizza and restaurants. Our highlight was watching the old drawbridge being raised to let a tall ship pass through. On the way home we had dinner at the Snack Shack on the water and watched the sunset. Beautiful! The whole next day was spent in Mystic Seaport - a wonderful experience!

The Howard Johnson was very convenient to all these locations, there is a nice diner attached to the hotel as well as a McDonalds, Friendly's, Dunkin Donuts and a convenience store across the streets but really you should be eating at the local restaurants!
The desk lady was very professional and courteous and answered all our questions and had many suggestions for best local places to see and eat at.
Our room was a 2 Queen with jacuzzi tub on the 2nd floor facing the back of the building which is actually overlooks a lawn, some trees and I-95! I was worried about the traffic noise but surprisingly, with the patio door closed you did not hear any of the noise at all. The front rooms face the parking lot.
The room was larger than I expected, very clean, the bedding was clean and well made up. Pillows were a bit lumpy but plentiful. None of that weird funky hotel smell, which was nice.
The jacuzzi tub had a crack on the outside of it but worked just marvelously. There is a fridge and microwave which is helpful for those traveling with kids to keep snacks and drinks in the room. The pool was lovely and INDOORS which is great for fall travel with kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank varla267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the great review, I am so happy to hear that your vacation went so well. it sounds like the weather was great and you had plenty of time to see the sights
I do hope to see you again next year.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was good and served it purpose for our overnight stay in Mystic. It was close to all the sights and close to restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you and looking forward to your next stay
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

After carefully researching which hotel to stay at, we finally decided on Howard Johnson-Mystic and had a lovely stay. Our room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and very helpful. our room had a microwave, small fridge and was larger than a standard room. The location was perfect for visiting the Mystic Seaport and the Olde Mistick Village was right across the street. We didn't have enough time to see everything we wanted to see but we now know that we can stay at Howard Johnson again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpianeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us
looking forward to your next visit
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YARMOUTH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

adequate, somewhat expensive for Sat night stay Thats all I am saying, room was fair, no other ammenities, bathromm could use an update. would had preffered a king bed instead of 2 quens

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank markr1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, I am sorry that the room was not what you were looking for, we are always working to update the rooms, I hope you will stay with us again so we can show you that we can do better.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

very attentive staff after a long road trip with kids you want to just unload and settle in as quickly as possible and we did need a rollaway bed, which we were told is in limited supply but the check-in staff made an effort to get on and by the time we got to the room it was already there.....the kids had time to take a quick swimm and then off to bed...The hotel (includng pool) was clean......They could have cleaned the bathroom corner areas a bit better especially with young kids crawling around, wasnt bad but could have been a little cleaner and I would say still cleaner than average.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terconn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to let us know you had a good stay, I do aplogize that room was not as it should be, please know that this will be attended to immediately
looking forward to your next stay with us
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Address: 253 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing