We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My children were not happy”

Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My children were not happy”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

After all the positive reviews we read, my 3 boys were really looking forward to trying some Bleu Squid cupcakes. Unfortunately, they were disappointed. They tried both the chocolate mint cupcake and the bleu squid cupcakes. They all 3 complained, so I tasted both. The cupcakes were dry and flavorless. I know this place is well-loved, but those cupcakes were not good. On the other hand, the peanut butter chocolate brownie I bought was delicious! And the staff at the store was friendly, patient, and kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCDawninPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    69
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Cheesy Heaven! :)”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch today and WOW...it was the best grilled cheese we've ever had! Although they were quite busy, our order was taken almost immediately as we walked in. Their "special blend" of cheese on the sour dough bread that we chose for our sandwiches (you get a choice from 3 kinds that they offer) really made it a one of a kind sandwich. They have a cute little deck on the back to eat out on if you can snag a seat. If not, there's plenty of benches around to eat it on the go. Definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“GREAT CUP CAKE”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We read about this place on Trip Advisor and found the cup cakes were indeed sinful ! Also very friendly and helpful !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IBJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lobster Grill Cheese”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Every thing that you read about the Lobster Grill Cheese it true. We also tried the Blue Cheese and Bacon. Excellent. They could use a few more tables.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabberwocky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went there 3 times on our recent vacation; 1 for cupcakes for dessert, 1 time for lunch(super grilled cheese sandwiches) and one last time to bring some cupcakes home. Service was great too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trebord90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing