We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorite Lunch Spots”

Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of my Favorite Lunch Spots”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Whenever I am in the area, this is my favorite spot to pick up lunch! Their grown-up grilled cheese is delicious! They have a variety of grilled cheeses, the lobster one is also very good. Everytime I go I usually end up with one of their cupcakes as well. Grilled Cheese + Cupcake = the Perfect Lunch!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    73
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best grilled cheese ever”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I went to Old mystic village for some souvenirs for our kids. It was around 1230 Lunch time, we were done with the eating out by the end of our trip and wanted something that was more of a home cooked meal. We decided to ck out the Bleu Squid. The best grilled cheese sandwiches ever. We each got one and split it DELICIOUS !!! Is all we could say The sandwiches hit the spot. If you are in the are this is the place to stop at .

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Grilled Cheese and Cold, Hard (Old?) Cupcakes!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The grilled cheese sandwiches are very gooey and good, with high quality ingredients. When I bit into my cupcake, though, it was cold and hard. The flavor of the frosting was decent, but it came off in hard chunks and the cake was dry and crumby. Had I still been in the store, I would have mentioned this to the ladies working there, but we had left the store. Lesson learned: Make sure you get a FRESH, room temperature cupcake!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“AMAZING CUPCAKES!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

sandwiches are great! mac and cheese was good but average. their cupcakes have been sooo amazing each time i've been here. they have unique flavors and their cupcakes are always moist!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angier, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great spot to grab a bite to eat - they are incredible, especially the lobster grill cheese. They also have other eclectic eats and snacks to satisfy your needs while shopping in the Mystic Village. I have recommended to others to try lunch here, and they too have liked it. Classic, simple sandwiches on great home made bread.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BF F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bleu Squid Breakfast and Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing