We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Irish pub”
Review of Harp and Hound Pub

Harp and Hound Pub
Ranked #23 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful inside and out met great people there and food was reasonable and tasty..would definitely go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sioned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    13
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's a Pub”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an authentic pub. If you think of pubs you visited in England, the drink was great, the people were friendly, and the food was just ok. Same with Harp and Hound. Go for a beer and snacks, have dinner somewhere else. Do check the local beers, especially the Mystic Drawbridge, and Yankee ales. Most of the appetizers are fine pub fare. Skip the "clam stuffies." They are approximately turkey stuffing on a half shell.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NattyClevelandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were in Mystic Friday night after a 6 hour drive from Maryland to attend the Deep River muster on Saturday. Hungry and a bit tired we were looking for a place to eat when we turned off Main Street and saw the Harp and Hound. Wow! Just the kind of place we were looking for. The server quickly brought menus and something to drink. The menu had a lot to offer and we selected a great hot dog and fish and chips. Our food arrived quickly and was really good!! The atmosphere was lively, the food was great, and our server was super. We left very satisfied and pleased with our decision to eat at the Harp and Hound. Great place, great food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

stopped in for food and drinks for happy hour and it was great! loved the atmosphere, and the wait staff was friendly. It was a nice end to a great day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trintrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

What a find. I stopped in around 10 pm and asked if the kitchen was open - it wasn't, but she offered to thrown on Shepherds pie. It was great. Great hospitality, terrific Guinness. Will definitely be coming by again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 08fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harp and Hound Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing