We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly farmhouse B&B close to Casinos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brigadoon of Mystic
Ranked #5 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A rustic 250 year old farmhouse 16 miles from Mohegan Sun, 11 miles from Foxwoods and 1 mile to Mystic. One comes here for the outstanding personal service from Kay and Ted. As hosts they were warm, welcoming and helpful. They even let us use their kitchen to prepare the oysters that we had bought. Ted is usually in overalls constantly fixing the home and maintaining the grounds. Kay will make you made to order breakfasts and put out afternoon refreshments. She is readily available with maps and friendly advice about area restaurants and excursions. Very "Newhart".
The B&B is not so much dirty as it is close to nature. Yes, we did have leaves blow in from our private entrance when opening and closing the door and the carpet of our room was a little worse for wear, but the bathroom was clean (though outdated) and had unlimited hot water with great shower pressure and we got a very peaceful and quiet nights sleep in our King bed in front of a gas fireplace. The Wi-Fi is very speedy and we had full cable. The common rooms are interesting with a huge, old cooking fireplace, games, magazines and stocked bookshelves. Think sunday afternoon, Scottish farmhouse cozy.
When coming to the casinos or Mystic for the weekend you will save a bundle and be able to incorporate some romance and nature into your trip. Don't forget to ask Kay about her shortbread!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fallenidol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

Want to stay with family while visiting Mystic ??? then Brigadoon is the place to go. Owners Ted & Kay Lucas have created a warm and friendly atmosphere which makes you feel like you are coming home as soon as you walk through the front door of this 250 year old farm house. The owners could not be friendlier or more accomodating. Kay who is a native of Scotland, is quite proud of her heritage which is echoed throughout the guestrooms, named after Scottish royalty. She is happy to share advice on where to dine in town or what to do to make your Mystic visit memorable. Be sure to try her famous shortbread cookies while enjoying tea or a glass of wine in the afternoon. Ted is proud of his beautiful gardens and kitchen. You haven't lived until you've tried his waffles and bacon, which are out of this world. The Inn is quaint and comfortable but what really makes it are the owners, Ted and Kay. So while heading up I 95 or visiting Mystic CT, stop at Brigadoon for a little New England comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyBColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stayed at the Brigadoon for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. My wife and I love to stay at B&B’s when traveling. In all our B&B stays I would rate this as our worst. We found the room to be very dirty. In fact a previous guest had written the words “DUST ME” in the dust on top of the television. There were bobby pins and other items on the floor so it was obvious the room had not been vacuumed. In fact we left the items there to allow the chance for the room to be cleaned the next day but they still remained when we checked out. Although breakfast smelled delicious, I can not comment on the quality since my wife refused to eat there die to the cleanliness issue.

Based on my previous B&B experiences I would rate the Brigadoon a nice boarding house and not an upscale B&B. I was willing to spend twice the amount if my room was clean. I did drop the owners a line when we returned home so hopefully they will correct these issues before the next guests check into the Stewart Room. By the way, no compensation was offered for the poor experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JFMGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We were very impressed with our stay in the Brigadoon B&B. The owners were friendly and very eager to help us.
They have hundreds of copies of National Geographic magazines, which we enjoyed reading in the few minutes we had spare at the end of the day.
I would certainly recommend them to anyone who asked - the breakfasts were phenomenal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cougar_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Stayed at the Brigadoon for one night in July. It was a cozy B&B that was closely located to downtown Mystic and the Seaport (maybe 10 mins by car). The innkeepers were very accomodating and friendly. We stayed on a room on the first floor and it was spacious and very clean. Bathroom also large with plenty of room. No problem with shower, etc. It was humid when we were there and the air conditioner was great to have. Breakfast was filling (fresh fruit salad, pancakes/bacon or eggs/bacon cooked to order, coffee, fresh OJ). Very cute house in general, very country-style, with some adirondack chairs on the front lawn for lounging.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tree99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed 1 night at this B&B and had a fantastic experience. The room was comfy and clean and the air-conditioning worked fine. I love the four poster bed although would understand if not to everyones taste. The best thing I can say about this place is the hospitality. From the moment we walked in we were made to feel welcome- Bottled water and wine was even made available.
Last but not least - I would have to say the breakfast served here was probably the best we had for the entire 2 weeks of our trip to the US and I did not need to eat again until evening!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank andy1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2005

Nice place. Very nice owners. Try to get a room on the first floor, very steep staircase. There was a for sale sign out front when we stayed so it may change hands soon. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was the only B&B available, which is what happened the first time.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystic
1.4 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigadoon of Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigadoon of Mystic

Address: 180 Cow Hill Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-1446
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: $165 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old farmhouse turned bed-in-breakfast near the Mystic village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Brigadoon of Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing