We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had a very pleasant experience with this hotel, except for one issue that was quickly addressed. From the woman on the phone who took my reservation up to checkout, everyone was unfailingly nice, professional and customer-oriented.

The hotel itself is very charming, as others have mentioned, and the location couldn't be better. You are right in the middle of the main commercial district and steps from shops and restaurants. You won't have to worry about street noise keeping you awake though because the area gets very quiet at night.

We stayed in the third-floor deluxe suite, which had a queen bed, love seat and writing nook. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bath tub was also a Jacuzzi. As promised, we had a perfect view of the river and Main Street. There was a fireplace that worked (I think our room is the one in the photo), but we stayed there during a heatwave. The complimentary breakfast offered more than I was expecting, like yogurt and microwaveable bacon and egg sandwiches.

Our only issue during our stay was the air conditioning. We arrived in 90-degree weather and the room was stifling. We informed the front desk and they said that the central air moved room by room, so it might take a while to reach our room. We were heading out anyway, so they said to let them know if it got any better when we returned an hour later. It didn't. They brought up a fan and gave the same explanation about the central air. Long story short, it never got much cooler in the room. It was Fourth of July weekend and the hotel was fully booked, so asking for another room wasn't an option. At checkout, we brought up the problem with the air conditioning and the woman at the front desk apologized sincerely and offered without any hesitation a generous discount on the room.

I have no doubt that they will do whatever it takes to make sure the room is comfortable for future guests. So, yes, I would wholeheartedly recommend this place, not because I particularly loved the room or the hotel itself, but because the staff provides excellent customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerNYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    239
    65
    19
    10
See reviews for
111
388
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June and we had a great time! The location of this hotel is perfect so that you can park your car and walk everywhere. We arrived early and when I went to the front desk to inquire what time I could check in the staff was extremely nice. They told us anytime after 3pm which we totally understood. She even gave us a map of the area and pointed out somethings for us to do. When we returned our check in was quick and easy. We stayed in the main building on the third floor. There was no elevator so that was a bit of a surprise but it wasn't a problem. Our room was a cozy queen and I was able to pick the exact one from the website which I really appreciated. The room was clean and comfortable. We had no complaints. This hotel even offers discounted tickets to the Seaport - which was great!The continental breakfast was fabulous! Way better than any chain hotel's. And the wait staff in there was so nice and personable too. If we come back to Mystic, I will be making another reservation for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location, had a view of the drawbridge from our room. Clean, spacious and comfortable room. Relaxing stay. We had a King room on the second floor. You can leave your car and walk all around downtown. Had a package deal with the room for dinner. Bravo Bravo is attached to the hotel. Great food, very busy, loud and crowded though. Had breakfast at checkout, very good selection to choose from.

Room Tip: Package deal was a good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the cozy queen room in the main building, up the stairs on the third floor. The room was plenty big for us, clean and comfortable. The breakfast (included in the room rate) is very good and one of the best we've had with a wide assortment of pastries, muffin-type sandwiches, cereal and fruit. We also enjoyed dining at Bravo Bravo, the restaurant downstairs one evening, which was quite a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I should start off by saying that I after looking at pictures of downtown Mystic on the website, I was very excited to stay at the Whaler's Inn. After opening the door to my room, I realized that I should not have gotten my hopes up.

For a little over $200 a night, I did not expect a five star hotel, but I did expect cleanliness in a good location. The location is great, but it seems to me that the Whaler's Inn uses their location as an excuse to slack off on much needed renovations and updates. After pulling up, you will clearly realize that the only thing that you're paying for is the downtown area, because the room was to the point of pathetic. And I will tell you why:

1. There was an overwhelming musty smell that stuck on hair, clothes, etc. I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy. I asked to smell a few of my neighbor's rooms, and their's were just as bad. They don't offer cancellations, so I was out of luck. My allergies flared during the time I was staying there, and I couldn't wait to leave. If you have allergies, asthma, or sensitivity to smells, I would highly recommend staying elsewhere. I checked out the Marriott before leaving and it was just lovely. I will stay there the next time I return.

2. Bedspreads were old and smelled like the room. Actually considered going to a local store to buy fresh blankets, but figured they would smell after putting them into the room. Got an awful night's sleep.

3. Saw several bugs in my room during my stay. They almost blended into the carpeting, so they were difficult to spot. Ants crawling on me in the shower, though too. Since I was only staying a night and am highly against poisons and sprays (I use all natural) I figured I would try my hardest to deal with it until early the next morning, when I packed up as fast as I could.

4. The shower is so tiny, that I was thankful for my petite stature, because if I was any larger I'm certain that I would not have fit. Reminded my of my college dormitory days. Not good

5. Finally, the staff is rude and unfriendly. They acted like it was a huge chore to answer simple questions. Wanted directions to a few places (no concierge), and opted to ask random people than encounter the rude ladies at the desk.

Overall, avoid unhealthy mold, terrible smells, and bugs and stay elsewhere. Mystic is small, it's only a two or three minute drive downtown and there's plenty of parking. Enjoy your cleanliness and large showers at other hotels.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Callie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am incredibly sorry to hear about your experience with us. As we do not seem to have a record of your complaints during stay we urge you to contact us to discuss your stay further. We pride ourselves on our award winning service and cleanliness and would like the opportunity to be able to address the problems with your guestroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We pulled into Mystic CT for a wedding near Stonington, CT. We were 3 people looking for place to spend a great weekend. The staff at Mystic handled everything we need from late night directions on where to get cereal to regular maid service. The LOCATION is perfect! Great hotel, great staff!

Room Tip: Have a great time...it will be short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theseattlecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards, Nicole
Assistant Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything about this Hotel is charming. The location, the rooms and the staff. Visited Mystic several times but never stayed but was lucky to do so this past weekend. We had a 'charming' room on the 2nd floor in the Inn. Décor was exactly what I would have expected from the overall appearance of the outside but the staff and breakfast was more than expected. Plentiful fresh choices each morning hosted by 'charming' young lady. The 'charming' front desk staff were so welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient. Even the housekeeping staff had a 'charming' attitude whilst going about their duties. I would recommend The Whalers Inn anytime over a 'chain' and they are right in the heart of 'charming' downtown Mystic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bateson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn. We appreciate all your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn in the future!
Kindest Regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Property: The Whaler's Inn
Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing