We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great location, dumpy rooms.”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Whaler's Inn for a weekend in Mystic. It was in a perfect location- we could easily walk to the little downtown area and restaurants. The staff was friendly and lovely, and the Inn has a quaint New England vibe.

The room itself was really dumpy and gross. The sheets were cheap 50/50 blends. The nasty brown floral bedspread and the huge stain on the brown carpet were not nice at all. The room looked like it hadn't been updated since 1980.

All in all, I'm surprised the Whaler's Inn has such positive reviews, but then if the staff and the location had been different, I would have only given it one star.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for The Whaler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 727 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the time I made the reservations a couple of months ago, I was looking forward to our stay at the Whaler’s Inn. I wanted a place with local character, and from the reviews I’d read that’s where we needed to stay. My only question was, since the hotel is comprised of three different buildings, each with their own personality, to which building would we be assigned? So, right after I placed my reservation online, I fired off an email to ask. I received an almost immediate response… not only telling me which building, but which room! Two months out! Nice touch. Check-in was smooth and friendly. They provided lots of information about the area and pointed us in the direction of the freshly baked cookies. Room 38 was exactly as shown in pictures. Extremely clean, odor-free, and very charming. Four-poster bed, a little sofa, a desk and a nice, large bathroom. Being a corner room, there were four double-hung windows, with screens, that actually opened! The only thing that could have made the room a little more comfortable would have been more tabletop surface area. It seems we were constantly shifting the coffee service tray to the floor to give us enough space to set up our laptop on the desk. The same was true of the bathroom. Pedestal sinks are a nice decorative touch but leave little room to open up the travel bags and set out the toiletries & cosmetics. Even a towel ring by the pedestal and a couple of hooks on the back of the door would have helped. Aside from that, we LOVED the place! The continental breakfast was just enough to start the day out right. Nothing spectacular, but fresh offerings and well supplied by a pleasant staff. The Whaler’s Inn was like a step back in time, putting us right in the mood for a relaxed visit to this historic seaport, with all the amenities we’ve come to expect. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Four poster bed, spacious room with large working fireplace .Beautiful large bathroom with spa tub. Very clean. Felt very relaxed with this super room and amenities. Not so bothered about the complimentary 'continental breakfast' but the hotel is well situated to walk to everything around about wiith a good selection of individual stores and restaurants. We had a few minutes drive to find a breakfast diner. Overall, a good choice for my birthday weekend away.it is not a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Check what amenities and type of room you are receiving for your booking.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Location was great, easy walking distance to downtown. Staff was very nice and inn was in good condition. Rooms were basic but clean. Continental breakfastwas nice and included in price, food selection was good. My only complant was the full sizes beds were super soft, if you were to close to the edge you felt like you would fall off. Room need to be aired out alittle when we arrived but there was no central air only wall A/C. Turn on A/C and 10 minutes later room was good. Check in and out was super easy. Also one person in our gruop had to cancel that morning, no issues with refund. Recommend, only down side no pool for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level room if your using strollers or wheel chiar. Stayed in back, which is setup li...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Jus spent the weekend at the inn with my girlfriend and we couldn't be happier! We stayed in the king size suite an it was beautiful! Had a fireplace and a spa tub we couldn't of been happier with the inn!! Staff was so friendly! We will be back in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at the Whaler's Inn. Very nice, rooms were exacty as described, and our room was quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast served is pretty robust, complete with good coffee!! Excellent location - you can walk across the bridge to everything; Seaport is a 2-minute drive or maybe a 10-minute walk? (we drove) and most importantly, it's near a LOT of good restaurants. But the top plus was the astounding service of the staff, all around, which just seemed to be second nature to them. They could not be more accomodating, and really seemed to only care that your visit was nothing but a great pleasure. On this alone, but with everything else I mentioned, I would highly recommend the Whaler's Inn.

Room Tip: Our 'cozy queen' was Room #19, indeed cozy but quite sufficient for our needs. Absolutely qu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasualTravelerMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Looked forward to our stay as we have stayed in several hotels in area as we have two daughters in college close by. Room very musty smelling to the point it gave us a headache and all our clothes smelled. Also run down, mattress old. Walls paper thin heard it all next door. Way over priced. Will go back to the Hampton Inn for a clean room, friendly staff and very comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryruthb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I'd like to apologize for your disappointing stay. I can assure you that we do hold ourselves to a very high standard of cleanliness and customer service. As you can see from past reviews, we typically receive outstanding marks for both. In regards to the mattress, all beds are outfitted with Serta Presidential. I can assure you we maintain these mattresses to the highest standards recommended for them. However, I apologize if the mattress did not suit you. We strive very hard to provide each and every guest with the best possible experience. It is unfortunate that you did not find the room to your liking and we do apologize. We do hope that in the future you would be willing to try us again and hopefully we can provide you with a positive lasting experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
731 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $163 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing