We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway!”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Jus spent the weekend at the inn with my girlfriend and we couldn't be happier! We stayed in the king size suite an it was beautiful! Had a fireplace and a spa tub we couldn't of been happier with the inn!! Staff was so friendly! We will be back in the near future!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 758 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at the Whaler's Inn. Very nice, rooms were exacty as described, and our room was quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast served is pretty robust, complete with good coffee!! Excellent location - you can walk across the bridge to everything; Seaport is a 2-minute drive or maybe a 10-minute walk? (we drove) and most importantly, it's near a LOT of good restaurants. But the top plus was the astounding service of the staff, all around, which just seemed to be second nature to them. They could not be more accomodating, and really seemed to only care that your visit was nothing but a great pleasure. On this alone, but with everything else I mentioned, I would highly recommend the Whaler's Inn.

Room Tip: Our 'cozy queen' was Room #19, indeed cozy but quite sufficient for our needs. Absolutely qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasualTravelerMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Looked forward to our stay as we have stayed in several hotels in area as we have two daughters in college close by. Room very musty smelling to the point it gave us a headache and all our clothes smelled. Also run down, mattress old. Walls paper thin heard it all next door. Way over priced. Will go back to the Hampton Inn for a clean room, friendly staff and very comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryruthb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I'd like to apologize for your disappointing stay. I can assure you that we do hold ourselves to a very high standard of cleanliness and customer service. As you can see from past reviews, we typically receive outstanding marks for both. In regards to the mattress, all beds are outfitted with Serta Presidential. I can assure you we maintain these mattresses to the highest standards recommended for them. However, I apologize if the mattress did not suit you. We strive very hard to provide each and every guest with the best possible experience. It is unfortunate that you did not find the room to your liking and we do apologize. We do hope that in the future you would be willing to try us again and hopefully we can provide you with a positive lasting experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Whaler's Inn is a wonderful place to enjoy Mystic. It is clean, comfortable and well maintained. The staff is friendly , warm and accommodating. They even refrigerated leftovers from dinner for us. The beds are comfy, the noise level is low to non-existant and the complimentry breakfast is varied and satisfying. The Inn's location puts you in walking distance of most of Mystic's attractions and good restaurants. A downside, if any... the parking can sometimes be a problem as the lot fills quickly and on occasion, leaves a guest to park elseware, normally accross the street in the restaurant parking lot. Great mini-vacation spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsafranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Inn and sharing your positive thoughts and compliments with us. We strive to provide excellent customer service and from your review, it sounds like the staff did just that. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is well maintained and clean. The staff is very helpful. The exterior is kept up nicely and stays true to it's historic roots. The interior also captures the charm and feel of an old New England inn. The rooms are nicely decorated and the pictures on the web site are true of what you'll find in the room.

It is centrally located. Downtown Mystic's wonderful shops and restaurants are a 3 minute walk. The Seaport, Aquarium and Olde Mystic Village are no more than a 5 minute drive. And Mohegan Sun is about 20 minutes away.

A wonderful value! We went for a Fri - Sun getaway from New York and plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our Historic hotel. We truly enjoy our unique property and try to maintain the integrity in our building's history. Please come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Whaler's Inn is a lovely place well located right near the bridge. You can walk everywhere you want to go! They offer a nice breakfast, internet access and a very helpful and friendly staff. I had a king room that offered a sofa, comfy bed. The shower was very small, but the Inn is old and I expect these types of things when I travel. Had a wonderful meal at Bravo Bravo, the restaurant attached to the Inn. I felt it was a great value and will be my first choice when I visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at The Whaler's Inn back in August with my boyfriend and was very pleased with my overall experience. The staff there was accommodating, nice and the hotel/room was very clean. Our room was a Queen sized suite in the Main House and was wonderfully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the linens were beautiful, especially the thick quilted comforter. It was really the little touches that made our stay all the more special. The bathroom in the suite was very clean and room service was prompt and efficient with cleaning our room. I wish there was an on-site pool but we still managed to find comfort elsewhere. There also was no elevator in the building (I believe?) and so we had to carry all our luggage up several flights of stairs being that our room was on the third floor. This, of course was a bit of an inconvenience and the breakfast could have included a little more variety as well but was still quite good nonetheless and I enjoyed that the room it was held in had windows facing the street. In terms of the hotels location, I thought it was ideal because most anything & everything was within walking distance. All the restaurants and shops were a walk away and I found this to be very convenient and helped conserve some gas. This Inn is truly a gem and I recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoodlandExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $111 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing