We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend getaway”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay. Room #64 was beautifully decorated with a fireplace which was oh so nice to relax with after a day of walking and shopping. Beautifully updated, roomy bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It is in the center of town-very convenient to shops and restaurants. You may hear traffic, but the convenience of the location made it nice. They offer a continental breakfast which was ample in choices and afternoon snacks were available. The staff were all very warm and friendly greeting us each time they saw us. This is a place to visit in warmer weather...lots to see and do along the waterfront. We arrived late in the season, a day after the Seaport activities ended, but we enjoyed a couple of wineries, restaurants and shops. Very enjoyable weekend for our 30th anniversary!

Room Tip: Our corner room was large with 4 windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 752 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Reason for 3 Stars is the PRICE. The building is very old; you can hear everything people are doing. I could not sleep do to the noise but we stayed at the cozy queen room feeling like I was at a motel. The shower was very uncomfortably SMALL; the curtain kept on attaching itself to our bodies. Breakfast was just breakfast, nothing impressive. Again, it was way too expensive for it not to have been a great stay.

You are only paying for the location; which is perfect, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Nicole - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in a Cozy Queen room. Our sincerest apologies that you found your room's shower stall to be uncomfortably small. Due to the historical nature of our building (c.1910), the architecture restricts the bathroom size for some of our guest rooms. We do hope in a future visit to Mystic, you will return to the Whaler's Inn and try one of our many rooms that are larger and not as historic. Know that we are staffed 24 hours to assist our guests. In the future, if there is a problem with noise, please let the staff know and they will do their absolute best to rectify the situation for you. In regards to pricing, Saturdays are a higher price. But you will see it is very competitive with surrounding inns and hotels that do not have a “downtown location” or offer the personal service that the Whaler’s Inn can. However, we do run fantastic monthly specials and last minute deals throughout the year. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night while in Mystic. The staff was very nice. You can tell the building is old as the floors did creak and were a little uneven, but we thought that added to its charm. Our room was big and was clean and we liked how it was decorated. They do offer a continental breakfast which was decent in size and had a nice variety to choose from. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel. This place is within walking distance to the town and all the restaurants and shops and is right next to the harbor and bridge that raises so boats can go through, which is neat to watch if you've never seen one. Overall would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Whaler's Inn is perfectly situated at the bridge in Mystic. We stayed in a luxury room which had a lovely jacuzzi bath and fireplace. Our view was of the Mystic river and the drawbridge, but it really was a quiet room and I didn't hear any street noise. My only complaint is that the wifi signal does not really reach our room, but other than that it was absolutely lovely. The complimentary continental breakfast goes down well and the breakfast room was packed with people each morning. Mystic is such an interesting town to explore, and the Whaler's Inn has real history as well. Round off your trip with dinner at Bravo Bravo. It is superb.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river and bridge - in October a fireplace is an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IngeJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Whaler's Inn is a charming wonderfully maintained hotel in downtown Mystic. Everything about the Inn is top notch; the thing which takes it to the top of the charts is the efficiency and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDCarerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mystic, and the Whaler's Inn is right in the middle of the town and convenient to everything! Because of the coming storm we had to check out a day or two early, and the hosts were very helpful and considerate about that. The staff here is lovely and helpful. Our rooom was small but clean and charming. The bathrooms are great. Breakfast was more than adequate. If you do want to stayin the heart of Mystic, DO choose this Inn! We will happily revisit the Whaler's Inn on our next rip.

Room Tip: The various buildings seem to have different sorts of rooms; ask questions when you phone for a rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very large room with noisy air con unit. However for a one night stay it was OK. Free wifi in room was a plus and an in room coffee maker[which I adapted to take tea bags!]. Continental breakfast included and a bistro on the premises if you arrive late and can't be bothered to go out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanarvidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $125 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing