We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with the Whaler's Inn”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We reserved two king rooms about 2 months prior to our 08/04/12 to 08/10/12 trip.

General:
a) Whaler’s Inn consists of four or five buildings around a central parking lot. The location is excellent, within walking distance of pretty much everything (see photos).
b) Breakfast is decent, consisting of fruit, muffins/pastry, bread items, cereal, etc. (see photos).
c) Usually in the evening, cookies are put out for the guest.

Staff:
No complaints, very friendly attentive employees. Although the manager/owner had to tell the check-out clerk they accepted AARP discount for my parent’s room.

Room:
Comfortable, more than adequate. Beware – there isn’t a mini refrigerator nor a microwave in the rooms at the Noank House; but we really didn’t miss not having these. Also, the bathroom (shower only) exhaust fan is pretty loud when the bathroom light is on (see photos).

Area Restaurants (1 to 5 scale)
Abbott’s Lobster in the Rough (3.5)
Ancient Mariner (3.0)
Cove Fish Market (4.5)
Green Marble Coffee House, Peacock Alley (coffee 4.5, espresso 1.0)
Margarita’s Mexican (3.0)
Mystic Drawbridge Ice Cream (coffee 3.0, espresso 3.0, ice cream 4.5, sandwiches 4.5)
Mystic Ice Cream and Sweet Shop (sweets 4.5, espresso 5.0, ice cream 4.5)
Mystic Pizza (3.0) [yeah, it’s famous and so-what]

Attractions:
Mystic Seaport (4.0) [we drove, but easy 20 min walk from motel]

A special nod to the Posh Body and Bath. The counter person (owner-??) was very helpful in recommending things in the area. She was very warm and friendly. Shop is just around the corner from the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeralde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for The Whaler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our last stop on a long trip, and having been disappointed in our previous hotel in Maine, I was really looking forward to a lovely New England inn. Unfortunately, we stayed in the Stonington House, and it was pretty much a motel room, with no light. The beds were not that comfortable, and the air conditioner was incredibly loud. Looking at one of the pictures posted, I realize that there is a part of the inn which is beautiful, but unfortunately, they will not allow families with children in it.

The staff was lovely, and helpful when I could not manage to log in on their wireless. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast, with a delicious coffee cake, bagels, eggs to put on them, some Canadian bacon, and cereal, yogurt, etc. Coffee and tea are always available, which was very nice. The location downtown is fabulous, allowing you to walk to restaurants, shopping, etc.

I would have loved to have loved this inn, but the motel branch just was not what I was expecting.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, you will be unable to stay in what looks like a beautiful inn. I am...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our 4th stay at the Whaler's Inn and we will keep coming back. The staff is always welcoming and the rooms are always comfortable. The location cannot be beat for walking or driving to and from via Route 1.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so pack smart or ask for 1st or 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A charming inn right in the middle of everything. The rooms were well appointed. King size bed was comfortable with a couch in the sitting area for lounging. We wished there was a refrigerator to make the room perfect for our needs. Directly across the street is the mystic river park where we danced to live music then headed to S&P Oyster Restaurant for dinner. All shops are in walking distance and the vibe is fun, quaint, and a bit funky all at the same time. We will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Whaler's Inn this past weekend, where we had a room in the Hoxie House. The room was lovely. It had all of the charm of a Bed & Breakfast, but with more privacy. The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was quite good. The location of the hotel was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we needed. As soon as we arrived, the receptionist gave us a list of restaurants and activities and we were off.

When checking in, please be aware that you may have to walk up a flight or two of stairs. There were no staff members around to help us with our bags. If I knew that in advance, I would have brought a duffel bag instead of a suitcase, for ease of carry.

We did think that the hotel would be better suited for couples or families. Most of the other guests were significantly older than us (I am in my early 30s and my sister is in her 20s).

We would highly recommend every restaurant we went to. S&P Oyster House, across from the hotel was great. Azu had a younger feel and was also delicious, just a short walk from the hotel. Mystic Pizza was a lot of fun. We also went on the schooner day cruise, recommended by the hotel, and it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

August is almost here. Once again my husband and I will be packing our bags and heading to our home away from homeThe Whalers Inn in Mystic Ct. We love staying at the inn. The staff at the inn has become family to us. The rooms are always comfortable and clean.The inn is located on Main Street in Mystic and is covenient to restaurants and shops and many other attractions. I am officially in what I refer to as "Mystic Mode" the closer it gets to our vacation. Once again looking forward to our stay at the inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank audden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is amazing! I've been to a lot of hotels and inns and this by far tops them all. They are so friendly and genuinely nice people that help you with everything. I remember I called the front desk at like midnight and asked for what was open for food and they gave me names and phOne numbers! It has a great location I would walk to the bagel store around the corner and pick up breakfest every morning!! There's this amazing Mexican place called margaritas which has the best drinks and guacamole ever!!! The aquariums not too far away and Foxwoods is literally 20min away as well!!! At night it's a little quiet which is nice to not have kids around and just adults! I would love to go back! P.s. I'm 21 and I even loved it so no it's not just a family oriented town!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: $164 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing