We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Valentine's Day”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy Valentine's Day”
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Having lived in Mystic, we always wondered what it would be like to spend an evening in the Steamboat Inn. Now that we are in Niantic, and pining for Mystic, we decided this year to go there for Valentine's Day. You couldn't ask for a nicer, more cheerful staff. We chose Room #1, right in front, and were able to keep an eye on the river we love so much and travel frequently on our boat. Off to Bravo Bravo for dinner...a terrible disappointment, for the second time in a row. They "forgot" to order my meal, so complimented me with a glass of God forsaken white wine. Next time, Anthony J's, which has never failed us. We found it very quiet inside the Inn, even though they had quite a few visitors. It's wonderful to have a cheerful kitchen right there, with hot water for tea, coffee, etc. I loved the breakfast, not being a person who needs bacon every single day. Lots of good bread, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal. We came home relaxed and happy about our getaway choice. Looking forward to going again.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank EVEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    108
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
441
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2006

A wonderful inn located on the Mystic River. The room overlooked the river with a real working fireplace, Each room is individually decorated. Located in town. Expanded continental breakfast included in price. We ate dinner at the Oyster Company, near the Inn. Good food, also on the waterfront.

  • Liked — location - on the river and the rooms were so nice
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday at the end of November. I had reservations to stay at another hotel, but after reading reviews for both Inn's on trip advisor, I chose the steamboat Inn instead. Our stay was wonderful. The staff was very friendly, the Inn charming and quaint. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We stayed on a mid-week winter special, making the Inn even more affordable. The only negative I can think of was that breakfast was very limited. I suspect this is due to the fact that the Inn was not fully booked. This was not an issue, as there are other local eateries for breakfast nearby. Fantastic stay, I hightly recommend!

  • Liked — layout of rooms
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HapTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

loved this little inn right in the heart of downtown mystic. lovely, clean room with tasteful decor. the breakfast was great- plenty of options for everyone. the location was stellar- walking distance to shops and restaurants. only negative was that the walls were a little thin; could hear people getting ice in the hall or turning their faucets on. but would return and highly recommend.

  • Liked — lovely room
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — book early if going on peak weekends
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This is absolutely fabulous! We found the Inn to be worth evrey penny! The room, staff, breakfast, ambieance, everything about the Steamboat Inn is top notch!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debnlupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2006

We stayed at the Steamboat Inn both times that we visited Mystic - for our honeymoon and our 2-year anniversary. The first time, we stayed in the Harmony room - very nice. No river view, but a king sized bed, large room, 2-person Jacuzzi. This most recent visit, we stayed in the Early Dawn room. My only complaint was that it only had a queen-sized bed. The room was very good sized. We loved that the room has plates, mugs, cups and silverware along with coffee, teas and hot chocolate. The common room is open I think all the time with a very nice breakfast served until 10 (coffee cake, cereal, bagels, English muffins, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice). They also set out cookies and sherry in the evening. We have no complaints about anything about the inn. We were able to connect to their high-speed connection without a problem and the room was always clean. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The privacy of the rooms "off the dock"
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay in one of the rooms off the dock - they're a little more expensive, but worth it in my opinion.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyS727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We stayed at the Steamboat Inn while passing through Connecticut onto Massachusetts. This place was great and we will for sure be back. We were in the Marie Gilbert room. It had great views of the Mystic River and the boats. It was so nice to wake up in the morning and be able to see the beautiful view right from bed. This particular room is on the small side but it was great for us. The bed was comfy and the amenities great. We had a continental breakfast in the morning that was very nice, a lot to choose from.
We ate at the famous Mystic Pizza shortly after we arrived. I was pleasantly surprised with this pizza as I had heard it was just okay. We both really enjoyed it and will be back. The place is full of pictures from the movie so it was nice to reminice.
We shopped in the little stores which was so nice. Little stores filled with great findings and charming people who work there. We really liked CoMina, which is a store filled with goodies for your home. Lezley who works there was a great help and just a gem to chat with.
I highly recommend the Steamboat Inn while in Mystic. Mystic is one of my new favorite places to visit and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlgrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,055 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing