We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were hoping for!”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Exactly what we were hoping for!”
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We loved our room, the water views, and especially the fireplace! Great location in center of Mystic, we walked to local restaurants both nights. Enjoyed quite and relaxing breakfasts and coffee in the common room.

  • Liked — The room with a fireplace
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LandDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    108
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
441
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Haddam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic getaway, to go Christmas shopping and enjoy each other. It was just awesome. Diane, one of the inns keepers, was fantastic! Just a delight to stay there. Definitely for adults only. Very romantic. Very clean. You feel like it is a home away from home. We stayed here last year, this year and will be going back next December. I am very particular where I stay. This is one place that, without question, I would suggest to any couple. Especially if you are looking for alone time and to enjoy one another! Our trip was certainly a wonderful memory!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherriedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Stayed one night in the Mystic Room. Beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The view of the river outside just beautiful. In the evening there was sherry and cookies in the common room and we took some back to our room. They also have tea and coffee available all day. Logs were set up in the fireplace and we lit a nice fire. They leave extra logs in the hallway to keep your fire going. Very romantic. The breakfast was very simple but that is what we like. At other B&B's we usually get sweet and sticky food and we don't eat it. The food here was very healthy. There was fruit, cereal, bagels, muffins, juice and coffee and they served until 10am. We parked our car and didn't really need to move it except to go to a concert at the Mohegan Sun (20 minutes away) Restaurants and shops are right in the walking area. We asked for a recommendation to a good Italian restaurant and they sent us to Bravo Bravo. It was so terribly overpriced and was just so so. Don't waste your money there. We split a salad and had a main meal each, no dessert or drinks and it came to over $80.00.
Due to the time of year, it was very quiet and that's what we like. Everyone at the Inn was very pleasant. Also because it is off season the rates are more reasonable. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, spacious room, decor, clean. views.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband & i stayed here last weekend, using a gift certificate. The rooms were just gorgeous & lovely decorated, with large closets & sitting areas.The view of the River was better than any thing else I've seen in a while, like moving wallpaper- watching the fishermen each am, catching their quotas.The breakfast room was nicely displayed with much more than the usual continental breakfast of coffee & a donut- eggs, cheese, fruit, home made muffins & bagels. Coffee & water are available , complimentary all day. We would just go across the hall & get a coffee & bring it back to the room.A fireplace was available in the sitting area, but it was a bit too warm already - the whirlpool was a delight. The Inn is located directly near the draw bridge, which opens frequently & the horn blows , so you can go see what type of boat is going by. As an aside- the drawbridge appears as if only a canoe can pass under it!
The restaurants & shoppes are all with in walking distance & we never had to move the car.The staff were most helpful & open to any questions.
Would definately go back & not stay any where else.Also, there are appears to a plethora of dogs in Mystic-all leashed & obedient- but we felt like we were missing something!! Dogs are in the stores etc. Maybe they rent them out for the day -like bicycles-just specify the breed!!!

  • Liked — view of the river
  • Disliked — a pool or outdoor sitting area would be nice for the warmer months
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackiefazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We arrived here on spec hoping to get four nights but unfortunately they were pretty booked out so we only got one night but the room we got was lovely.

Really good size, clean and comfortable. The staff there were great, especially Kate who rang around a few places in the area to find us accommadation for the next few nights and was really helpful and welcoming.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoShedsJackson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn and it was a wonderful start to our holiday. The room we stayed in (Ariadne) was beautifully presented and maintained with some lovely touches and the staff were friendly, kind and couldn't do enough to help. The Inn is located in an ideal spot to explore Mystic, tucked away behind the main street alongside the water. At the end of our stay, we were due to catch a taxi to the railway station. The taxi firm were unable to promise that they'd be able to pick us up on time for our train and Rosemary, one of the members of staff, kindly drove us to the railway station herself. If you want clean, comfortable, calm and conveniently located accommodation from which to explore Mystic, then the Steamboat Inn is for you, though it is far more than just a base, it is a beautiful and homely place to stay.

  • Liked — Style and personal touches e.g. homemade blueberry muffins at breakfast, sherry & cookies served each evening in the common room
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Having just stayed at the Steamboat and now read the other reviews, I fully agree with all the positive comments and find it hard to understand the few negatives. The staff go out of their way to make their guests' stay comfortable and the hotel is, in addition to a perfect location, very well presented and maintained.
The breakfast my be a little simple or indeed healthy for some needs, but the quality of the food and warmth of the service is second to none.

  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rupert_The_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing