We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest spot in the area”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband & i stayed here last weekend, using a gift certificate. The rooms were just gorgeous & lovely decorated, with large closets & sitting areas.The view of the River was better than any thing else I've seen in a while, like moving wallpaper- watching the fishermen each am, catching their quotas.The breakfast room was nicely displayed with much more than the usual continental breakfast of coffee & a donut- eggs, cheese, fruit, home made muffins & bagels. Coffee & water are available , complimentary all day. We would just go across the hall & get a coffee & bring it back to the room.A fireplace was available in the sitting area, but it was a bit too warm already - the whirlpool was a delight. The Inn is located directly near the draw bridge, which opens frequently & the horn blows , so you can go see what type of boat is going by. As an aside- the drawbridge appears as if only a canoe can pass under it!
The restaurants & shoppes are all with in walking distance & we never had to move the car.The staff were most helpful & open to any questions.
Would definately go back & not stay any where else.Also, there are appears to a plethora of dogs in Mystic-all leashed & obedient- but we felt like we were missing something!! Dogs are in the stores etc. Maybe they rent them out for the day -like bicycles-just specify the breed!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackiefazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Steamboat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

We arrived here on spec hoping to get four nights but unfortunately they were pretty booked out so we only got one night but the room we got was lovely.

Really good size, clean and comfortable. The staff there were great, especially Kate who rang around a few places in the area to find us accommadation for the next few nights and was really helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank TwoShedsJackson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn and it was a wonderful start to our holiday. The room we stayed in (Ariadne) was beautifully presented and maintained with some lovely touches and the staff were friendly, kind and couldn't do enough to help. The Inn is located in an ideal spot to explore Mystic, tucked away behind the main street alongside the water. At the end of our stay, we were due to catch a taxi to the railway station. The taxi firm were unable to promise that they'd be able to pick us up on time for our train and Rosemary, one of the members of staff, kindly drove us to the railway station herself. If you want clean, comfortable, calm and conveniently located accommodation from which to explore Mystic, then the Steamboat Inn is for you, though it is far more than just a base, it is a beautiful and homely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Having just stayed at the Steamboat and now read the other reviews, I fully agree with all the positive comments and find it hard to understand the few negatives. The staff go out of their way to make their guests' stay comfortable and the hotel is, in addition to a perfect location, very well presented and maintained.
The breakfast my be a little simple or indeed healthy for some needs, but the quality of the food and warmth of the service is second to none.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rupert_The_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

In June we stayed at the Steamboat Inn. From the minute we arrived we loved it. Our room #1 The Ariadne was sunny and welcoming. It was very clean and had a nice view of Mystic River. We loved having the wonderful bars, restaurants and shopping right outside our hotel room. We never had to move our car. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. While in comparision to other hotel/motels in the area the price is a bit higher, it is well worth the extra money. One thing I would recommend is not going out to pay for breakfast until you see the lovely spread The Steamboat Inn puts out. We went out both mornings without checking the breakfast out. When we saw on the day we were leaving the lovely breakfast they put out - we kicked ourselve. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuzzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We spent two nights in the Marie Gilbert room on the second floor of the Steamboat Inn and couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect for couples who just want to spend a weekend enjoying Downtown Mystic. It's located right on the Mystic River and less than a minute walk from all the best restaurants and shops in town. The staff was very friendly and inviting. Diana prepared a delicious continental breakfast highlighted by the best homemade muffins I've ever had. The view from our room overlooking the river was great.

All in all, this is a great little weekend get-away in a great little New England town. This was a birthday present for my girlfriend and she expressed that it was the best birthday of her life. Highly recommended.

p.s. Go have dinner at Bravo Bravo, it's top notch food!
While you're out grab a drink at AZU, nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewAlcindor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

After reading the reviews on this site, I was expecting a lot from the Steamboat Inn. Especially because the prices aren't exactly low. My boyfirend and I traveled to Mystic by train and walked to the inn. It only took 5 minutes and was very easy to find since it's literally in the center of the best part of Mystic.

The staff was wonderfully friendly (especially Kate, who works at the front desk and is more than happy to offer helpful restaurant advice). The room was impeccably clean and exactly what we expected from the website pictures. The breakfast was tasty, with fresh, homemade blueberry muffins and granola. There was free water and soda for the guests at all times and we loved the sherry & cookie afternoon pick-me-up.

Two things weren't quite perfect. We stayed in the Annie Wilcox room and the bathroom faucet made an annoying, high pitched tone that reminded us of running your finger around crystal goblets. Also, the Annie Wilcox room is directly across from the entrance to the breakfast room, so we were woken up both mornings by breakfast noises and people talking. The situation of the room just didn't feel very private.

I feel I should also add that you shouldn't heed what the locals say about the quality of Mystic Pizza. It is very good, despite the fact that every local we asked about it had nothing good to say. We heard it's gotten better recently. My advice is to go, because it's good. However, we also went to Pizzata (just down the street) which was just as good, but in a completely different way (more traditional Italian style with thinner crust).

We had such a great time in Mystic and we just adored the Steamboat Inn. I can't imagine staying anywhere else if I were go back and would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew who was going to be in the area. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
886 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing