We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the Steamboat Inn on October 14th for 3 nights and loved it! Our room, the Mystic, is a corner room on the 2nd floor and has a wonderful view of the river. The bed, the furniture, the entire room, was so comfortable and cozy. Breakfast each morning was included, it was good, and we were happy it was right there on site. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we want to give a shout out to Kristen at the front desk! The town of Mystic with its many different shops and restaurants is a fun place to visit, and the Mystic River with its unique bridge is beautiful. And you can't go wrong by staying right on the river at the Steamboat Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    106
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
414
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed one night in Oct while passing thru from Boston to NYC.

On the plus side; location is FANTASTIC, we had no trouble with outside noise interrupting our sleep, they made a decent enough cup of coffee in the morning (we did not partake in the buffet breakfast), and I'm always a sucker for wildlife outside my window (see photo).

On the negative side; the inn keeper (manager?) exhibited zero personality and warmth, hotel overall is a bit old & rundown, beds were cotton-candy soft and the frame of the 4-post bed in our room was so beaten up it appeared to be an original from when there were 13 colonies, and our room had so much (bad, old, cheap) furniture crammed in that it made it difficult to move around the room freely.

Unfortunately, there are not any better options in Mystic, which allows this facility to skate by providing the bare minimum, which is unfortunate because it could be so much more...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuwaitiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraC970, Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are thrilled that the guest in this review enjoyed the location of Steamboat Inn. It is unfortunate that the guest has the opinion that the furniture in his room was 'old and cheap'. As we are an Inn located in a beautiful Seaport town, our rooms do carry the traditional charm of antique furniture and eclectic pieces to compliment the Inn and the town we live in. The room that this particular guest stayed is on the smaller side, and therefore the furniture is situated to compliment the river view.
Our entire staff prides itself on giving our guest the best possible service during their time spent at Steamboat Inn and we have many wonderful guests who visit us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

As part of our trip to the US this year my Wife and I stayed in Mystic for a few days and from reading the reviews we chose the Steamboat Inn. I have to say we weren't disappointed.

The Inn itself is right in the heart of Mystic, so it's very easy to get to the enormous amount of restaurants and bars that Mystic offers. I never imagined that you could have so many places to eat or drink in such a concentrated area!

The room at the Inn was very spacious, more like a suite than a room. The bed was very comfortable and there was a great view over the river. Breakfast was also included and both my wife and I found it to be excellent, as well as the home made cookies available later in the day.

I'd highly recommend the Steamboat Inn if you're thinking of visiting Mystic, you'll not go wrong.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms on the first floor, so you don't have people walking past your window fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here while on a 3 week tour of New England and it was one of our favourites. The location is excellent being close to shops and restaurants and within easy walking distance of Mystic Seaport Museum. Our room (No 1 - Ariadne) was more like a suite with a large bathroom and double whirlpool tub. The bedroom had a very comfortable bed with a large sitting area and fireplace. Perfect to sit and enjoy the afternoon sherry and cookies! We had a lovely view down the river and found the room quiet at night. The only slight downside was the breakfast which was adequate but not exceptional. Having said that there was a generous supply of tea/coffee, water and soft drinks any time. We would definitely highly recommend the Steamboat Inn.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are right on the dock which is a public area, so choose a first floor room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LmKSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This being my 1st B&B-type stay, and having read some reviews mentioning the Early Dawn room--the only one available at the time of booking--I was somewhat apprehensive. But having spent a good bit of time on the Inn's website, I trusted my gut and booked. SO glad I did!

Everything on their website is faithfully represented: what you see, you will actually get. Early Dawn was just as gorgeous in person: a large, airy room on the first floor. Previous reviewers described its 1st floor location as being uncomfortably close to the riverside boardwalk and the river itself. Since I was there in early October, I had few people walking by outside my windows and only a few boats came through honking loudly--not at all bothersome. During the high season, it could be a *very* different experience, but one rather unavoidable if you want to be right on the river as I did. The river views were gorgeous and the slight breeze off the water lulled me into the best sleep I've had in years. The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and had the biggest/nicest jacuzzi tub I've ever experienced--I was tempted to sleep in it J

Bottom line: a wonderful and serene stay. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Look at each room on the website to find the perfect one for you, and book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hx21973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in summer girl room on 2nd floor. Nice view of mystic river. Nice to be on 2nd floor versus ground floor. Service was ok. Continental breakfast was served. Cookies and brandy served daily in the late afternoon.

Room Tip: Summer girl room was a good size. Bed and also small love seat and fireplace. Bathroom had whirlpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just stayed last weekend. It was a wonderful place with a fantastic staff. The town is beautiful. Will def stay again. Our bedroom was great and everything was very clean. All the little shops and bars made for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraC970, Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Steamboat Inn. We agree with you that the location of Steamboat Inn really does leave you with so many choices for a great stay with restaurants, shopping, and tourist attractions just minutes away. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.0 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing