We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very pleased” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

Stayed a weekend at the Steamboat Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the first phone call to our departure, we couldn't have been more pleased. The GPS directions from the web site led us right to the somewhat hidden driveway. We were warmly greeted and shown the inn. Our room was ready and waiting. (room #2). There was a bit of a smokey odor when we first entered but come on, there is a working fireplace in the room.
As for the fireplace, it was a very nice touch to have the logs pre-set for us. A strike of the match and we had a fire. This was done both nights of our stay. The bedding was comfortable and the room was clean. Good shower!
The breakfast was continental and adaquate. The inn staff was present to warm a muffin or refill a coffee pot. There was a stack of local papers to view in the breakfast room.
The location was great. Walking distance to historic Mystic and you're right in the downtown area. We were there on the eve of the local St. Patrick's parade so the town was dressed for the occasion. The local shop owners were very friendly and we did buy. We had dinner at the Packer Inn, which is walking distance from the Steamboat, and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
In the end, we really enjoyed our stay and will look to return. We took brochures for family members so you can safely assume we recomend the Inn.

  • Liked — The quaintness, comfort and location.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseycpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    106
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
414
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nutley,NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

After making the decision to stay in a B&B and reading the reviews of the Steamboat Inn, I called the Inn directly to book a room. The person I spoke to as very patient and went over everything with me. She did not push, but guided me to a wonderful experience. The Inn had extended their winter rates and I went with the Kathleen, the largest room in the Inn.

We arrived at 2:00 and our room was ready. The girl at check in said the room was ready but their was one small problem, the remote for one of the TV's was not working and they were in the process of replacing it. I was not prepared for that...but that was an indication of how they pay attetnion to even the smallest details.

The room is beautiful! It was very large and inviting. The linens on the bed were soft and very appealing. Lots of extra pillows and blankets to be found. The small kitchen area was very nice to have and was filled with glasses, plates, silverwear and a corkscrew. Their was an assortment of teas and hot choclates, sugars and coffemate. Hot Coffee in always available in the Common Room. The room was divided into two areas, the bedroom and the sitting room. The sitting room overlooked the river, and yes we were able to hear the horn blow for the bridge to go up, it did not boither us in anyway. Outside the room is a small walkway, which only leads to the Inn and the Condos/ Townhouses next door. There was no problem with noise, however that may be a little different in season. There was enough privacy with shuttlers on the bottom windows and blinds on the top. The curtains always were able to be drawn for complete privacy. The bathroom in this room is very nice and immaculate. The large whirpool tub was relaxing and the tolietries given were very good. The shower is fine.
Breakfast was very good. There was enough anytime we went. Homemade muffins, bagels, breads, cheese, hardboiled eggs, juices and the best granola I have ever tasted. We were never dissatisfied. Sherry and cookies are served at 5:00. We never went to that so I can not comment.

There are only a few spots directly outside the inn, but there is a public lot within feet of the entrance. The Inn will validate your parking and you never have to pay for it. We never had a problem going in and out of the lot.

This was by far one of the best getaways my husband and I had.
It was relaxing and the atmospher was just what we were looking for. The staff was great, they were accomadating, my sister had called an order champagne and cake for our anniversary, and they took care of it with no problem.

We also had the chance to see some of the other rooms and all were equally nice. The pictures on their website and exactally what you are getting.

I highly recomend The Steamboat Inn.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crewmom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at the Steamboat Inn for 2 nights in room 7 - Carolyn. The room was large, and attractively decorated. Loved the large jacuzzi. Our room appeared clean, but we did detect a very slight musty smell upon entering. The mustiness did seem to dissipate after running the heat for a while.

Breakfast was OK- a choice of various breads, cereals, yogurt, juices, and one type of homemade muffin - all self -serve. Nothing to write home about, but convenient.

Overall, it is a nice place, but we felt it was overpriced (approx $250/night after tax) for the amenities offered. For that price I would have liked a bit more service during breakfast, and quality linens. For example, the bath towels were fairly thick, but very small - we had larger towels at a Holiday Inn along I-95. Also the pillows on the bed were not comfortable - 2 were literally about an inch thick and the others were only slightly thicker.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi
  • Disliked — An average place at an above average price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Staceybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

The Steamboat Inn was the best choice of the local inns, IMO. It's the only one directly on the river and we had a magnificent view. We stayed in the Victoria and enjoyed our nights by the fire.

The room is large with a nice sitting area and quite comfortable. The bed was just right. Breakfast was more than one might expect and there was always coffee, tea and a variety of other beverages available throughout the day.

My wife had never been to Mystic and it was probably about 45 years since my last visit. We would do it again and perhaps during a warmer month when the seaport buildings are open.

Our compliments to the management.

  • Liked — Affordable and comfortable. Best place I was ever able to sleep in (usually up with the birds).
  • Disliked — TV could be situated in sitting area of room.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NubbleLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

We stayed in the off season but had a lovely view of the river and the holiday lights across the river. It was nice to have a wood burning fire place. There were a few rooms available and we chose ours but all of the rooms we looked at were fairly large. All of the rooms that we saw had a nice sitting area by the fire place. It was nicely decorated. A generous continental breakfast was provided--including delicious cranberry muffins. The inn could not be more centrally located. It is right in the center of town next to the drawbridge. We walked everywhere--including to Mystic Seaport.

  • Liked — Charm and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

We just went to the Steamboat Inn on Dec. 7 of this year, it was our 8th time there. We love the Inn and love Mystic CT. Every time we go it's an incredible experience, the rooms are lovely, the view of the river is amazing, and all the shopping and dining, so much to do. We have stayed at other Inns in the area and were really disappointed (The Whalers Inn) The Steamboat Inn will not disappoint. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and the breakfast is good (Muffins,cereal,toast,bagels,fresh fruit) We have already booked for Feb 08.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank alleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

I am a repeat customer at Steamboat Inn. This year, I booked a room but got very sick and could not go. I called to cancel 3 days in advance, and was told that their cancellation policy requires at least 5 days. I got no refund, and the owners refused to even let me rebook for another date or give me discount towards next stay. Very unfair and a bad way to do business, especially for a luxury boutique hotel! The "deposit" they charged me was full rate for the stay

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank freemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KABLOCK, Innkeeper/Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2007
We have a strict five (5) day cancellation policy that is posted on our web site. We take the first night as a deposit, two months prior to the arrival date. As long as we are notified five days prior to the date of arrival our guests may cancel or change their reservation without any penalty and will receive a full refund of their deposit. All of this is explained in detail over the phone at the time of booking. We then email or mail a written confirmation clearly stating the policy along with other pertinent information for the guests' upcoming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.0 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing