We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Getaway in Heart of Mystic”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Steamboat Inn for a weekend getaway and had a great experience. The inn is lovely -- it sits right on the dock very close to the Mystic Bridge. You can park your car and forget about it til you leave. You can easily walk to the Seaport, shops and restaurants. We stayed in Kathleen - it was beautiful and spacious with a whirlpool, kitchenette and luxurious bed. The breakfast was very nice with many selections to choose from. The common room is a great extra, with complimentary bottled water, sodas, coffee, and cookies in the evening.

We were extremely lucky that the barge mentioned by other reviewers departed just before we arrived ahead of Hurricane Sandy, so we did not have obstructed views or noise during our stay. The staff and management had called us about a month prior to our arrival date to let us know about the barge and discuss alternate arrangements. My impression is that they are doing the best they can with a difficult situation that they have no control over.

I will definitely stay at the Steamboat Inn again in the future. It's a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraF684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, General Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your review! The barge has been a challenge for Steamboat Inn and we are doing our best so we appreciate you recognizing this. Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Steamboat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 599 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn last week. We were notified that there was a barge parked in front of the inn to do some repairs to the bridge that partially obstructed the view. When I asked if there were any discounts being given they said no that there wouldn't be any noise from the generator the days were were staying and we still had a view. I have to say it more than obstructed the view...it almost completely blocked the view. Two of the three nights we stayed there the barge generator turned on first thing in the morning and my husband couldn't sleep.

We stayed in the Kathleen room. It is a beautiful room inside and very comfortable. I would stay there again but definitely not while the barge is there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gabby1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, General Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

While the barge situation is out of our control, we have gone out of our way to notify all of our guests as we receive updates as to the work that is being done. I wish that you had spoken with management because we would have definitely done something to rectify this situation for you. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied and I do hope that you will consider a stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Steamboat Inn's high rating is very well deserved, and we can't imagine staying anywhere else in Mystic. We just spent the weekend in Kathleen, the huge suite, and felt very pampered and comfortable. The fabulous view of the scenic Mystic River can't be beat, with fishing boats, schooners, kayakers, even a canoe gliding by at regular intervals. Our front "parlor" was a great place to hang out and catch some baseball playoff action on TV between excursions. Super comfy bed with very nice linens, and quiet room; we didn't hear a thing. Enormous bathroom that my husband claimed was "bigger than our apartment." And we especially appreciated all the historic photos and prints that decorate the premises. Perfect location in the heart of the village, friendly people, full breakfast, lots of nice touches... stay here!

Room Tip: We liked being on the deck level so we could exit right out to the parking lot and river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the inn and it was very comfortable, the room was great! The location is perfect.
Breakfast was simple but enough, the women serving it has been there for a long time and very nice to talk to. The afternoon sherry was great with homemade cookies.
I would definitely recommend and would even go back but so many other places to visit.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, very nice, the other rooms I saw looked just as nice. I don't think...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in Steamboat Inn for just one night but had a lovely stay in Carolyn room, a huge room with views over the river (ground floor). The bed was very comfortable and very high! Bathroom huge, separate door so felt very private, like our own apartment. Lots of space which was useful as we were packing our cases for the end of our trip. Evening cookies were lovely and made a great dessert after our mystic pizza! Breakfast was fine. Perfect location for exploring the compact Mystic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The friendiness of the staff and the spacious, beautiful suite on the waterfront were fantastic. A great downtown location that is just steps from many restaurants and shops, including the drawbridge, which enthralled our young daughter. The place serves a great breakfast and afternoon tea. We would go back there in a flash.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catullus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice and hope to every time we visit Mystic. It is charming and central to everything. Views of the river cannot be beat, nor can the free sherry and cookies! It is a great place for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with whirlpool baths and fireplaces to complete the charming feel!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaMondeEstBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
727 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing